Cricket - Bowden in Ashes umpire list

Billy Bowden has been included in an expanded list of five umpires to officiate during this winter's Ashes series.

PA Sport
Cricket - Bowden in Ashes umpire list

View photo

Umpire Billy Bowden during the ICC T20 Warm Up Match at the Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados.

Following the controversy that surrounded the officiating during last summer's Ashes, the International Cricket Council has named Bowden to stand in a Test for the first time since he was dropped from the Elite Panel in June.

Bowden will join the four umpires that officiated this summer - Kumar Dharmasena, Aleem Dar, Marais Erasmus and Tony Hill - after the list of appointments was revealed on Saturday.

Hill will, however, be used solely as a television official.

Bowden, who has stood in 75 Tests, will make his return in the third match in Perth, before moving into the TV box in Melbourne.

"We felt that we needed to spread the appointments across five umpires for the five Test series, rather than just the four that were used in the UK," the ICC's general manager of cricket Geoff Allardice said in a statement.

"Billy Bowden is the most experienced umpire on the international panel, and understands what is needed for the umpiring team to perform well in high-profile Test matches."

Allardice said that Hill's sole employment as a TV official - he will be used in three of the five Tests - was to help provide consistency in decision-making.

The use of the decision review system (DRS) stirred emotions during England's 3-0 win in the summer, with both Ashes rivals asking for clarification from the ICC over its implementation.

Allardice flew out to meet both teams before the fourth Test at Chester-le-Street to discuss any perceived problems, with the thermal-imaging Hot Spot technology most closely scrutinised.

"Appointing Tony Hill as TV umpire in three of the five matches is recognition that the role is becoming increasingly important in a DRS series," Allardice said.

"Having the same person in the chair more often should translate into more consistent decisions being made."

There is still doubt about what technology will be available for use in the DRS this winter.

It was initially announced that Hot Spot would be left off the DRS list after host broadcaster Channel Nine and Cricket Australia were unable to fund the technology.

There are reports that may yet change, ahead of the first Test in Brisbane on November 21, with the possibility of Real-Time Snickometer also being installed.

Aleem Dar and Kumar Dharmasena have been named to stand at the 'Gabba, with Marais Erasmus to be the TV official.

Ashes umpire appointments:

First Test, Briabane - Aleem Dar/Kumar Dharmasena (on-field). Marias Erasmus (TV).

Second Test, Adelaide - Marias Erasmus/Kumar Dharmasena (on-field). Tony Hill (TV).

Third Test, Perth - Marias Erasmus/Billy Bowden (on-field). Tony Hill (TV).

Fourth Test, Melbourne - Aleem Dar/Kumar Dharmasena (on-field). Billy Bowden (TV).

Fifth Test, Sydney - Aleem Dar/Marias Erasmus (on-field). Tony Hill (TV).

View comments (0)