Cycling - Evans assumes GC lead after stage three win

Cadel Evans (BMC) claimed the overall lead in the Tour Down Under after soloing to victory on stage three.

Cycling - Evans assumes GC lead after stage three win

View photo

Cadel Evans ofAustralia is kissed on the podium after winning stage 3 of the 2014 Tour Down Under cycling race on January 23, 2014 (AFP)

Evans, the 2011 Tour de France winner, attacked at the slopes of the Corkscrew to finish 15 seconds ahead of the chasing pack.

Team Sky’s Richie Porte attempted to stay with the Australian veteran but was dropped, and then led the chase with overnight leader Simon Gerrans (Orica).

Gerrans and Porte were caught by a larger chase group on the descent as Nathan Haas (Garmin) came in second and Diego Ulissi (Lampre) third.

"I had an idea of the opportunity I could get in Corkscrew climb and I knew what to do,” said Evans.

“My team did a fantastic job to position me where I had to be. I had been training well but winning is what we are here for.

"It’s amazing to be back racing in Australia and win. A stage race is all about the leader’s jersey. Time bonus is the key to win this race overall. We’ll see how it goes in the next stages. I haven’t won the GC yet,” added Evans.

Stage three result

1. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing) 3:34:05"

2. Nathan Haas (Australia / Garmin) +15"

3. Diego Ulissi (Italy / Lampre)

4. Adam Hansen (Australia / Lotto)

5. Simon Gerrans (Australia / Orica)

6. Rory Sutherland (Australia / Tinkoff - Saxo)

7. Brent Bookwalter (U.S. / BMC Racing)

8. Ben Hermans (Belgium / BMC Racing)

9. Daryl Impey (South Africa / Orica)

10. Robert Gesink (Netherlands / Belkin)

General classification

1. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing) 10:46:39"

2. Simon Gerrans (Australia / Orica) +12"

3. Diego Ulissi (Italy / Lampre) +15"

4. Nathan Haas (Australia / Garmin) +27"

5. Robert Gesink (Netherlands / Belkin) +29"

6. Geraint Thomas (Britain / Team Sky)

7. Daryl Impey (South Africa / Orica) +33"

8. Brent Bookwalter (U.S. / BMC Racing)

9. Rory Sutherland (Australia / Tinkoff - Saxo)

10. Ben Hermans (Belgium / BMC Racing)

View comments (5)