Cycling - Jungels roars to first pro victory

Luxembourg’s Bob Jungels was victorious at the GP Mobili Rubinetterie on Thursday.

Cycling - Jungels roars to first pro victory

View photo

Luxembourg’s Bob Jungels was victorious at the GP Mobili Rubinetterie (Imago - NOT IN ITALY OR FRANCE)

The 20-year-old RadioShack-Leopard time-triallist secured his first professional success on the one-day race from Suno to Stresa in Northern Italy after claiming multiple titles at national, European and World levels as a junior.

In a four-bike breakaway along with Katusha’s Marco Haller, Movistar’s Eloy Teruel and Colombia-Cold Portes’ Edwin Avila, Jungels was the only one able to resist being reeled back in by the peloton.

He eventually finished 53 seconds ahead of Italians Daniele Bennati (Saxo-Tinkoff) and Simeone Ponzi (Astana) in second and third respectively. Jungels averaged 41.199km/h on the 187.5km course at just over four-and-a-half hours. 

An elated Jungels said after the win: “It was a really hard day. 

"Everyone on the team kept trying to go in the breakaways and I finally made it with Haller, Teruel and Avila. We worked well together most of the day and got over nine minutes.

"When we went on the climb the first time we still had seven minutes and I saw that I was the strongest in the group.  We were three guys by the second time on the climb and I attacked at the bottom. 

"That was my only chance so I time-trialled to the finish against a strong headwind. I kept hearing Kim’s voice in my ear piece and I couldn’t believe how long those 15k felt.

“This was a race where we had no real leader so (director) Kim told us to try something. It’s an amazing feeling. 

"I was hoping to have a win some time this year but I never expected this.  I am overwhelmed.  It’s good for the team and I am so happy.”


1. Bob Jungels (Luxembourg / Radioshack-Leopard)

2. Daniele Bennati (Italy / Saxo-Tinkoff) at 53s

3. Simone Ponzi (Italy / Team Astana)

4. Marco Zamparella (Italy /

5. Francisco Ventoso (Spain / Movistar Team)

6. Fabio Felline (Italy / Androni-Venezuela)

7. Simone Campagnaro (Italy / Team Nippo-Rosa)

8. Matthieu Ladagnous (France / FDJ)

9. Giovanni Visconti (Italy / Movistar Team)

10. Marco Canola (Italy / Bardiani Valve-CSF Inox)

View comments (3)