Cycling - Navarro wins Vuelta a Murcia

Dani Navarro won the Vuelta a Murcia after proving himself the strongest man in a tough, uphill finish in Alto Castillo de Lorca.

Cycling - Navarro wins Vuelta a Murcia

View photo

Daniel Navarro - Cofidis

The Cofidis rider held off Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Bauke Mollema (Blanco Cycling) to claim victory in the 183km race.

The 2013 edition of the race had a strong field despite being reduced to a one-day race, but it was Navarro who dominated the climactic climb to claim the race.

Nick van der Lijke won the Beverbeek Classic one-day race in Hamont-Machel after winning a five-man sprint for the line, edging Dries Hollanders and Tom Vermeer for the win.

The day's other planned race, the La Drome Classic, was cancelled due to freezing conditions and heavy snow.

Vuelta a Murcia results:

1 Daniel Navarro Garcia (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 4:40:32

2 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team "

3 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team "

4 Robert Gesink (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team "

5 Luis Angel Mate Mardones (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits "

6 Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi "

7 Davide Rebellin (Ita) CCC Polsat Polkowice "

8 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team "

9 Jonathan Hivert (Fra) Sojasun "

10 Enzo Moyano (Arg) Caja Rural "

Beverbeek Classic results:

1 VAN DER LIJKE Nick Rabobank Development Team 2:53:21

2 HOLLANDERS Dries Metec Continental Cyclingteam "

3 VERMEER Tom Cyclingteam Jo Piels "

4 DERNIES Tom Wallonie - Bruxelles "

5 SENTJENS Roy Cyclingteam de Rijke - Shanks "

6 BOONS Ruben Lotto -Belisol U23 +0:03

7 JENSEN Christer Team Joker - Merida +0:52

8 MCLAUGHLIN Ronan An Post - Chainreaction +0:53

View comments (1)