Cycling - Norman Hansen wins GP Herning

London 2012 hero Lasse Norman Hansen won the GP Herning in a race for the line with fellow Dane Martin Mortensen.

Cycling - Norman Hansen wins GP Herning

View photo

Lasse Norman Hansen in action for Denmark in 2012 (Imago)

Blue Water Cycling rider Norman Hansen and Concordia Forsikring-Riwal rider Mortensen broke away from the leading 15-man group on the first of three finishing laps and would not be caught.

The break of the day in the 199km race - which started and finished in Herning - came after 15km and consisted of eight riders: Kasper Schonnemann (Team Trefor), Jesper Hansen (CULT Energy), Rolf Broge (Designa Kitchen Knudsgaard), Constantino Zaballa (Christina Watches-Onfone), Michael Berling (Concordia Forsikring-Riwal), Mathias Lisson (J.Jensen-Ramirent), Mathias Moller Nielsen and Aske Vorre (Blue Water Cycling).

They had a lead of two minutes after 30km then Berling, Zaballa and Lisson were dropped. At the halfway point the five-man group's lead was more than eight minutes.

The main pack began to chase in earnest on the rising second half of the race, with the gap again reduced to two minutes with 50km to go. The peloton split into three then Troels Vinther (Cult Energy), Mortensen, Rasmus Guldhammer and Lasse Norman Hansen went out from the first of those to catch the front five.

Mortensen and Lasse Norman Hansen then made their move, with Norman Hansen - gold medallist in the omnium in London - using up less energy and able to steal ahead at the finish.

Top 10

1 Lasse Norman Hansen (Blue Water Cycling) - 5:02:23

2 Martin Mortensen (Team Concordia Forsikring-Riwal)

3 Rolf Broge (Team Designa Køkken-Knudsgaard) +0.11

4 Rasmus Guldhammer (Blue Water Cycling)

5 Troels Vinther (Team CULT Energy)

6 Kasper Schønnemann (Team Trefor)

7 Mathias Møller Nielsen (Blue Water Cycling) +0.16

8 Daniel Holm Foder (Blue Water Cycling) +0.18

9 Michael Reihs (Team CULT Energy)

10 Michael Valgren (Team CULT Energy) +0.23

View comments (0)