Cycling - Paris-Nice 2013 route confirmed

The 2013 Paris-Nice race will again end with a 9.6km individual time trial after this year’s course was unveiled in full.

Cycling - Paris-Nice 2013 route confirmed

View photo

2012 Paris Nice Bradley Wiggins

Olympic gold medallist and Tour de France winner Bradley Wiggins won the concluding trial, held up the Col d’Eze climb overlooking Nice, to secure the overall win at the expense of Lieuwe Westra (Vacansoleil-DCM) and Alejandro Valverde (Movistar).

Wiggins’ Giro d’Italia ambitions mean he will not be defending his Paris-Nice title, however, with the 2013 edition beginning with a brisk 2.9km prologue time trial on the streets of Houilles on Sunday March 4.

Tony Martin, Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma-Quick Step), Thomas Voeckler (Team Europcar), Philippe Gilbert (BMC Racing Team) have all been confirmed as participants, with this year’s ‘Race to the Sun’ expected to be hotly contested without the presence of Wiggins, Alberto Contador, Cadel Evans or Vincenzo Nibali.

2013 Paris-Nice overview

Prologue: Sunday 3rd March: Houilles, individual time-trial (2.9 km)

Stage one: Monday 4th March: Saint-Germain-en-Laye - Nemours (195 km)

Stage two: Tuesday 5th March: Vimory - Cérilly (200.5 km)

Stage three: Wednesday 6th March: Chatel-Guyon - Brioude (171 km)

Stage four: Thursday 7th March: Brioude - Saint-Vallier (199.5 km)

Stage five: Friday 8th March: Châteauneuf-du-Pape - Montagne de Lure (176 km)

Stage six: Saturday 9th March: Manosque - Nice (220 km)

Stage seven: Sunday 10th March: Nice - Col d’Eze, individual time-trial (9.6 km).

View comments (1)