Cycling - Gerrans reclaims Tour Down Under lead on penultimate stage

Simon Gerrans edged towards victory at the Tour Down Under after reclaiming the overall lead on stage five.

Cycling - Gerrans reclaims Tour Down Under lead on penultimate stage

View photo

Simon Gerrans

The Australian will now take a one-second lead over compatriot Cadel Evans into Sunday's final stage as he seeks to become the first man to win the race three times.

Gerrans, who won the race in 2006 and 2012, finished the 51.5-kilometre ride from McLaren Vale to Willunga in third, crossing the line behind Diego Ulissi of Lampre in second and stage winner Richie Porte of Team Sky.

With former Tour de France winner Evans coming in sixth on the day, Gerrans toppled his fellow Australian from top spot on the general classification and is well-placed for overall victory ahead of Sunday's final stage, which comprises eight laps of a 4.75km circuit around central Adelaide.

Porte broke clear with 2km remaining of the Old Willunga Climb to claim his first victory of the race, the 2014 World Tour season curtain-raiser.

Meanwhile Gerrans, along with Ulissi, managed to accelerate away from Evans near the end of the stage, with the Orica GreenEDGE rider reclaiming the lead that he ceded to Evans after the second stage.

"It's not only a huge thrill, it's a huge sigh of relief," Gerrans said.

"My whole team has put in such a huge effort to support me this week.

"I'm so thrilled to have the lead back going into the last stage."

Stage five result:

1. Richie Porte (Australia / Team Sky) 3:42:20"

2. Diego Ulissi (Italy / Lampre) +10"

3. Simon Gerrans (Australia / Orica)

4. Robert Gesink (Netherlands / Belkin) +14"

5. Daryl Impey (South Africa / Orica)

6. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing)

7. Nathan Haas (Australia / Garmin)

8. Egor Silin (Russia / Katusha)

9. Adam Hansen (Australia / Lotto)

10. Geraint Thomas (Britain / Team Sky) +21"

General classification after Stage five:

1. Simon Gerrans (Australia / Orica) 18:02:19"

2. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing) +1"

3. Diego Ulissi (Italy / Lampre) +5"

4. Richie Porte (Australia / Team Sky) +10"

5. Nathan Haas (Australia / Garmin) +24"

6. Robert Gesink (Netherlands / Belkin) +30"

7. Daryl Impey (South Africa / Orica) +34"

8. Adam Hansen (Australia / Lotto)

9. Egor Silin (Russia / Katusha)

10. Geraint Thomas (Britain / Team Sky) +37"

View comments (1)