Cycling - Tour of California unveils 2013 route

The Tour of California will visit the summit of Mount Diablo as it travels from south to north for the first time in race history.

Cycling - Tour of California unveils 2013 route

View photo

cycling tour of california

The 1207km eight-stage race will begin in Escondido in San Diego County on May 12 and finish in Santa Rosa on May 19. For the first time, riders will ride to the top of the northern California peak, Mount Diablo.

"Taking the Amgen Tour of California from South to North is something we always knew we wanted to do, and we are thrilled with the way things have come together for 2013," said Kristin Bachochin, executive director of the race.

"We think this will bring a whole new element to the competition for the elite cyclists who participate, not to mention some striking California scenery for our worldwide audience."


Stage 1: Sunday, May 12 - Escondido

Stage 2: Monday, May 13 - Murrieta to Greater Palm Springs

Stage 3: Tuesday, May 14 - Palmdale to Santa Clarita

Stage 4: Wednesday, May 15 - Santa Clarita to Santa Barbara

Stage 5: Thursday, May 16 - Santa Barbara to Avila Beach

Stage 6: Friday, May 17 - San Jose (Individual Time Trial)

Stage 7: Saturday, May 18 - Livermore to Mt. Diablo

Stage 8: Sunday, May 19 - San Francisco to Santa Rosa

View comments (5)