Dakar - Bikes: Lopez wins stage but Despres closes in

Francisco Lopez won the 13th and penultimate stage of the 2013 Dakar Rally ahead of team-mate and race leader Cyril Despres.

Dakar - Bikes: Lopez wins stage but Despres closes in

View photo

Chile's Francisco Lopez rides his KTM motorcycle (Reuters)

Chilean Lopez finished the 735km stage between Copiapo and La Serena five minutes and 25 seconds ahead of Despres, the French defending champion who is chasing a fifth Dakar title.

KTM's Despres, who won in 2005, 2007 and 2010 as well as last year, is 8:15 ahead of Lopez in the overall standings.

"I saw that I'd got some time back on Chaleco (Lopez) and that he wasn't going to disappear into the distance over 140 km," Despres said. "So I thought I had better be careful with the engine.

"Since I ate quite a bit of dust in the morning, I preferred to make sure and take it easy."

The final stage on Saturday will finish at the Chilean capital Santiago after a 502km ride from La Serena.

Stage 13 results

1. Francisco Lopez (CHI/Ktm) 3:44:54.

2. Cyril Despres (FRA/Ktm) +5:25.

3. Paulo Goncalves (POR/Husqvarna) +5:29.

4. Juan Pedrero Garcia (ESP/Ktm) +7:42.

5. Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Husqvarna) +8:24.

6. Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) +9:37.

7. Ivan Jakes (SVK/Ktm) +9:54.

8. Olivier Pain (FRA/Yamaha) +10:10.

9. Jakub Przygonski (POL/Ktm) 11:02.

10. Gerard Farres Guell (ESP/Honda) +11:19.

Overall standings

1. Cyril Despres (FRA/Ktm) 41:37:18.

2. Francisco Lopez (CHI/Ktm) + 8:15.

3. Ruben Faria (POR/Ktm) +14:41.

4. Ivan Jakes (SVK/Ktm) +24:45.

5. Juan Pedrero Garcia (ESP/Ktm) 43:31.

6. Olivier Pain (FRA/Yamaha) +1:08:14.

7. Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) +1:14:56.

8. Javier Pizzolito (ARG/Honda) +1:26:23.

9. Frans Verhoeven (NED/Yamaha) +1:27:54.

10. Paulo Goncalves (POR/Husqvarna) +1:29:46.

View comments (0)