Dakar - Trucks: de Rooy lays down marker

Gerard de Rooy laid down a marker by winning the opening stage between Lima and Pisco in the trucks category of the Dakar Rally.

Dakar - Trucks: De Rooy makes it three from three

View photo

Gerard de Rooy, Dakar (Reuters)

The defending champion won five stages en route to the 2012 title, and looks in similar form this year.

Dutchmen dominate the leaderboard, with five of the top seven trucks Dutch-led.

Hans Stacey is second, 15 seconds adrift, while Marcel Van Vliet, Pieter Versluis, and Martin van den Brink are all within a minute.

Ales Loprais of the Czech Republic, third in 2007, is in the same place after the special stage.

Stage One result

1 Gerard de Rooy (NED) 8:46

2 Hans Stacey (NED) 9:02 +16

3 Ales Loprais (CZE) 9:11 +25

4 Marcel van Vliet (NED) 9:19 +33

5 Eduard Nikolaev (RUS) 9:20 +34

6 Pieter Versluis (NED) 9:30 +44

7 Martin van den Brink (NED) 9:44 +58

8 Martin Kolomy (CZE) 9:45 +59

9 Artur Ardavichus (KAZ) 9:51 +01:05

10 Jaroslav Valtr (CZE) 9:55 +01:09


View comments (0)