Dakar - Cars: Peterhansel wins stage seven to pull away

Stephane Peterhansel brought his Dakar Rally lead back up to over three minutes by winning stage seven in the Andes.

Dakar - Peterhansel keeps advantage as Saturday results finalised

View photo

France's Stephane Peterhansel and co-pilot Jean-Paul Cottret compete with their Mini during the 5th stage of the Dakar Rally 2013 from Arequipa in Peru to Arica in Chile (Reuters)

Nasser Al-Attiyah had closed to within 1m18s of Peterhansel's X-raid Mini when he set the pace on the preceding stage.

But although Al-Attiyah was quickest out of the blocks on Friday, it was Peterhansel who emerged on top by the finish in Salta.

Al-Attiyah was only sixth fastest on the stage, losing just under two minutes to the leader.

Guerlain Chicherit showed strong pace in the SMG Buggy by challenging Peterhansel for the fastest time, losing out by just 39 seconds.

Robby Gordon's Hummer was third quickest, closely followed by Orlando Terranova and Giniel de Villiers.

The latter continues to hold third overall, ahead of Leonid Novitskiy.

Stage seven result

1. Stephane Peterhansel/Jean Paul Cottret (FRA/FRA/Mini) 1:47:27

2. Guerlain Chicherit/Jean-Pierre Garcin (FRA/FRA/Smg) +39

3. Robby Gordon/Kellon Walch (USA/USA/Hummer) +1:08

4. Orlando Terranova/Paulo Fiuza (ARG/POR/BMW) +1:11

5. Giniel De Villiers/Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) +1:32

6. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Lucas Cruz (QAT/ESP/Buggy) +1:56

7. Erik Wevers/Fabian Lurquin (NED/BEL/Hrx) +3:45

8. Leonid Novitskiy/Konstantin Zhiltsov (RUS/RUS/Mini) +4:07

9. Carlos Sousa/Miguel Ramalho (POR/POR/Great Wall) +4:34

10. Lucio Alvarez/Bernardo Rolando Graue (ARG/ARG/Toyota) +6:24

Standings after seven stages

1. Stephane Peterhansel/Jean Paul Cottret (FRA/FRA/Mini) +16:23:43

2. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Lucas Cruz (QAT/ESP/Buggy) +3:14

3. Giniel De Villiers/Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) +44:03

4. Leonid Novitskiy/Konstantin Zhiltsov (RUS/RUS/Mini) +48:54

5. Guerlain Chicherit/Jean-Pierre Garcin (FRA/FRA/Smg) +1:17:05

6. Ronan Chabot/Gilles Pillot (FRA/FRA/Smg) +1:34:51

7. Bernard Errandonea/Arnaud Debron (AND/FRA/Smg) +2:02:18

8. Orlando Terranova/Paulo Fiuza (ARG/POR/Bmw) +2:06:38

9. Carlos Sousa/Miguel Ramalho (POR/POR/Great Wall) +2:07:29

10. Erik Wevers/Fabian Lurquin (NED/BEL/Hrx) +2:31:22

View comments (0)