Demare upstages big names to win Vattenfall

Arnaud Demare (FDJ-BigMat) beat a quality field to the win the Vattenfall Cyclassics race in Hamburg.


The French youngster showed great speed at the finish to burst clear for the win ahead of Andre Greipel(Lotto-Belisol ) and Giacomo Nizzolo (Radioshack).

Heavy hitters Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma - Quick-Step), Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) and Mark Renshaw (Rabobank) came next while Tour de France green jersey winner Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale) failed to figure after a mechanical problem whilst on the final climb up the Waseberg.

The Vattenfall Cyclassics has been one of the 24 races that contribute points to the UCI world rankings since 2009.

View comments (1)