Euro 2012 squads announced

The deadline for all 16 countries to name their 23-man squads for Euro 2012 passed at 11am on Tuesday.


Many countries had already whittled down their collection of players, but injuries forced a few late rethinks.

Other national team coaches had to cut multiple names from their squads in order to satisfy UEFA's regulations ahead of the tournament in Poland and Ukraine.

For detailed updates and confirmed squad selections, click the links on the right of this page.

Wednesday's headlines:

Injury ruled Kevin Foley out of Ireland's squad with the Wolves defender replaced by Paul McShane.

There were no surprises for England as the injured pair of Danny Welbeck and Glen Johnson made the final selection.

Italy kept Leonardo Bonucci in their squad but Mattia Destro and Andrea Ranocchia were left out.

France left Lyon playmaker Yoann Gourcuff out of their final squad.

Injury forced Thomas Sorensen to withdraw from the Denmark squad. He was replaced by Kasper Schmeichel.

Croatia manager Slaven Bilic dropped injured defender Dejan Lovren and left out three others.

Ukraine coach Oleg Blokhin omitted goalkeeper Olexandr Bandura, defender Vitaly Mandzyuk and midfielder Taras Stepanenko.

Tomas Rosicky was included in Czech Republic's squad despite fears over his fitness.

Sweden striker Johan Elmander was included despite having a fractured metatarsal bone in his right foot, with goalkeeper Andreas Isaksson, who has been suffering from a shoulder problem, also named.

Greece dropped midfielders Alexandros Tziolis and Panagiotis Kone to cut their squad down to 23.

View comments (0)