Euro 2020 Golden Boot: top goalscorers, game by game

·1-min read


About the Euro 2020 Golden Boot

The Golden Boot is awarded to the player who scores the most goals in the tournament. If there are multiple players with the same number of goals, the tie is broken by assists, and if those too are equal, by the lowest minutes played.

Own goals do not count, and nor do penalties scored in penalty shoot-outs, but penalties in normal or extra-time do. These are the same rules as used at the World Cup.

The Euros have been awarding a Golden Boot on this basis (with silver and bronze boots for the second and third places) since 2012. In that year Spain’s Fernando Torres took the award with three goals and one assist, with Germany’s Mario Gómez tied on goals and assists but having played more minutes, and so sinking to second place.

In 2016, Antoine Griezmann of France put clear water between himself and the rest of the pack with six goals, though still well short of the nine tournament goals scored by Michel Platini in 1984.

This year, favourites for the Golden Boot include England’s Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku for Belgium and Kylian Mbappé of France.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting