Everything you need to know about the Carabao Cup second round draw

Oxford United beat Swansea City in the Carabao Cup first round Picture: David Fleming
Oxford United beat Swansea City in the Carabao Cup first round Picture: David Fleming

OXFORD United will discover their Carabao Cup second round opponents tonight.

The draw takes place live on Sky Sports following Sheffield Wednesday’s first-round tie against Sunderland, one of seven games being played this evening.

The clash at Hillsborough kicks-off at 7.45pm so expect the draw sometime after 9.30pm, although a potential penalty shoot-out could delay proceedings.

Read the match report here

United are ball 16 in the southern section after fighting back from 2-0 down to beat Sky Bet Championship outfit Swansea City on penalties last night.

The U’s could face another higher-division team in the second round, with the 13 Premier League clubs not competing in Europe entering the draw, plus Burnley and Watford of the Sky Bet Championship.

Top-flight sides AFC Bournemouth, Brentford, Brighton & Hove Albion, Crystal Palace, Fulham and Southampton are all in the southern section.

Watford, who beat United on penalties in the second round in 2020, are also a potential opponent.

The U’s went out at the same stage 12 months ago, losing 2-0 at Queens Park Rangers.

Second round ties will take place in the week commencing August 22, contributing to a hectic early-season schedule for United.

Karl Robinson’s side will have played nine games between last Saturday’s win over Cambridge United and the visit of Burton Albion on September 3.


  1. AFC Bournemouth

  2. Brentford

  3. Brighton & Hove Albion

  4. Cambridge United

  5. Charlton Athletic

  6. Colchester United

  7. Crawley Town

  8. Crystal Palace

  9. Exeter City

  10. Forest Green Rovers

  11. Fulham

  12. Gillingham

  13. MK Dons

  14. Newport County

  15. Norwich City

  16. Oxford United

  17. Portsmouth

  18. Southampton

  19. Stevenage

  20. Walsall

  21. Watford

  22. Wycombe Wanderers

  23. Coventry City or Bristol City

  24. Plymouth Argyle or Peterborough United