FA Cup draw: When is the 3rd round draw and how can I watch?

The 2022/23 FA Cup has reached the third round stag  (Getty Images)
The 2022/23 FA Cup has reached the third round stag (Getty Images)

The 2022/23 FA Cup has reached the third-round stage, when non-league sides can draw Premier League teams and the prospect of giant-killings become reality.

Monday evening will see the all-important draw as the 44 teams from the top-two tiers, and the 20 sides who have come through the second round, find out their fates for the first weekend in January.

Anfield - home of reigning FA Cup holders Liverpool - will host the draw and the Reds are joined in the hat by footballing giants Manchester City, Manchester United, Arsenal and the team they beat on penalties in last season’s final, Chelsea.

At the other end of the spectrum, three non-league sides - Wrexham, Chesterfield and Boreham Wood - have guaranteed their spot in the third round after victories this weekend, while a fourth National League outfit, Dagenham & Redbridge, are also in the draw ahead of their replay with League Two Gillingham.

Here’s everything you need to know ahead of the draw:

When is the FA Cup 3rd round draw?

The FA Cup 3rd round draw will take place on Monday 28 November, following a weekend of 2nd-round action. The draw will be made at Anfield between 7pm and 7.30pm GMT on Monday evening.

How can I watch the draw?

The draw will be live on BBC Two, BBC iPlayer and the BBC iPlayer app and will also be streamed on the official FA Cup Twitter, Instagram and Facebook accounts.

Which clubs are in the draw?

All 20 Premier League and 24 Championship teams enter the competition at the third-round stage, joining the 20 winners of the second-round ties.

When will the FA Cup 3rd round fixtures be held?

Third-round ties will take place across the weekend of Saturday 7 January, 2023.

What are the ball numbers for the draw?

  1. AFC Bournemouth

  2. Arsenal

  3. Aston Villa

  4. Birmingham City

  5. Blackburn Rovers

  6. Blackpool

  7. Brentford

  8. Brighton & Hove Albion

  9. Bristol City

  10. Burnley

  11. Cardiff City

  12. Chelsea

  13. Coventry City

  14. Crystal Palace

  15. Everton

  16. Fulham

  17. Huddersfield Town

  18. Hull City

  19. Leeds United

  20. Leicester City

  21. Liverpool

  22. Luton Town

  23. Manchester City

  24. Manchester United

  25. Middlesbrough

  26. Millwall

  27. Newcastle United

  28. Norwich City

  29. Nottingham Forest

  30. Preston North End

  31. Queens Park Rangers

  32. Reading

  33. Rotherham United

  34. Sheffield United

  35. Southampton

  36. Stoke City

  37. Sunderland

  38. Swansea City

  39. Tottenham Hotspur

  40. Watford

  41. West Bromwich Albion

  42. West Ham United

  43. Wigan Athletic

  44. Wolverhampton Wanderers

  45. Grimsby Town

  46. Wrexham

  47. Accrington Stanley

  48. Fleetwood Town

  49. Ipswich Town

  50. Barnsley

  51. Forest Green Rovers

  52. Portsmouth

  53. Shrewsbury Town

  54. Hartlepool United

  55. Stevenage

  56. Charlton Athletic or Stockport County

  57. Boreham Wood

  58. Dagenham & Redbridge or Gillingham

  59. Oxford United

  60. Sheffield Wednesday

  61. Chesterfield

  62. Burton Albion

  63. Walsall

  64. Derby County