Premier League - Januzaj inherits number 11 shirt

Manchester United have announced their squad numbers for the 2014/15 Barclays Premier League season, with Luke Shaw taking the first-choice left-back's jersey as expected and Adnan Januzaj inheriting the shirt previously occupied by Ryan Giggs.

PA Sport Report
Premier League - Januzaj aiming to impress Van Gaal

View photo

Adnan Januzaj

Summer signing Shaw has been confirmed as United's new number three - in place of Patrice Evra, who has departed for Juventus - on the day it was confirmed he would miss the start of the season with a hamstring injury.

Belgium midfielder Januzaj, also 19, takes the number 11 famously worn during his illustrious playing career by Giggs, who is now Van Gaal's assistant.

Ander Herrera, the midfielder signed this summer from Athletic Bilbao, has taken number 21 in place of Angelo Henriquez, departed to Dinamo Zagreb on loan.

Juna Mata has been given number eight, with fellow midfielder Anderson being demoted to 28.

No-one has claimed the number five or 15 shirts worn previously by Rio Ferdinand and Nemanja Vidic, the centre-backs now with QPR and Inter Milan respectively.

Manchester United Premier League shirt numbers for 2014/15:

1 De Gea, 2 Rafael, 3 Shaw, 4 Jones, 6 Evans, 8 Mata, 10 Rooney, 11 Januzaj, 12 Smalling, 13 Lindegaard, 14 Hernandez, 16 Carrick, 17 Nani, 18 Young, 19 Welbeck, 20 Van Persie, 21 Herrera, 22 Powell, 23 Cleverley, 24 Fletcher, 25 Valencia, 26 Kagawa, 28 Anderson, 29 Zaha, 30 Varela, 31 Fellaini, 34 Lawrence, 35 Lingard, 36 Vermijl, 38 M Keane, 39 Thorpe, 40 Amos, 41 James, 42 Blackett, 45 Petrucci, 46 Rothwell, 48 W Keane, 49 Wilson, 50 Johnstone.

Play Yahoo Fantasy Premier League: Build your ultimate football team and beat your mates

View comments (9)