Formula 1 - F1 to introduce penalty point system

Formula 1 will introduce a licence penalty point system to penalise drivers next season.


Drivers who accumulate more than 12 points will be automatically banned from the next race.

This proposal has been under discussion since late last year with a trial points system running unofficially to evaluate its effectiveness.

This move has been made to allow stewards to take into account repeat offenders, with Romain Grosjean's one-race ban after triggering a first-corner accident at Spa believed to have been motivated partly by his record of incidents in previous races.

Currently, the only cumulative mechanism available is one of reprimands, with a driver receiving three being hit with a 10-place grid penalty.

It is understood that causing a dangerous collision will be worth three penalty points, with more extreme offences worth as many as five points.

"A penalty point system for drivers will be introduced," said an FIA statement.

"If a driver accumulates more than 12 points he will be banned from the next race.

"Points will stay on the driver's licence for 12 months.

"The amount of points a driver may be given for infringements will vary from one to three depending upon the severity of the offence."

The rules dictating how drivers must hand back any advantage gained from leading the track will also been tightened up.

This will ensure that situations such as Fernando Alonso having to give Sergio Perez a place under the safety car at Monaco are handled consistently in future.

"The procedure for a driver to be given the chance to give back any advantage he may have gained by leaving the track has been adopted," said the FIA.


Mercedes has been given permission to supply a maximum of four teams with engines next year - Mercedes, McLaren, Williams and Force India.

All team personnel working on a car in a pitstop during races must now wear head protection.

An extra set of tyres will be available for every driver during the first 30 minutes of Friday morning practice to increase track time.

Each driver can only use five engines during the season. Any changes of individual components, such as the turbocharger, motor-generator unit or energy store, will lead to a 10-place grid penalty, with any driver using a complete new power unit having to start from the pits.

Only one engine can be homologated during the homologation period, which runs from 2014-2020. Changes are permitted for installation, reliability or cost-saving reasons.

Gearboxes must now be used for six consecutive events, an increase of one on the current rules.

The pitlane speed limit has been changed to 80km/h for the whole race weekend. Previously, in practice and qualifying the limit was 60km/h with 100km/h the limit for all races except Monaco.

For the full FIA World Motor Sport Council decision, click here

View comments (3)