Formula Renault 2.0 - First pole of season for Gasly

Pierre Gasly (Tech 1 Racing) has claimed his first pole of the season in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0.

Formula Renault 2.0 - Familiar territory for FR 2.0 drivers in Austria

View photo

Pierre Gasly, Formel Renault 2.0, 2013

Gasly, the championship leader, was the only driver to lap in under 1:32, and he will start ahead of Oliver Rowland (Manor MP Motorsport) and Steijn Schothorst (Josef Kaufmann Racing) on the grid.

The Group A drivers were first to take to the track. And in the early stages of the session, it was Ignazio D’Agosto (KTR) and Pierre Gasly who traded fastest times.

Léo Roussel (ARTA Engineering) went off and prompted a short yellow flag period, after which Pierre Gasly improved with a lap of 1:31.872 to finish the session on top, above Steijn Schothorst and Luca Ghiotto (Prema Powerteam).

"This result shows that we made the right choices after testing. The car was superb and I managed to produce some clear laps," said Gasly.

"Starting on pole always helps you have a strong race, especially when the margins are as tight as they are here."

Times also improved throughout the Group B session, but it was Esteban Ocon (ART Junior Team) who emerged with the fastest lap.

Oliver Rowland signed off with a final effort of 1:32.067, which was enough to secure the British driver a place on the front row.

"I pushed as hard as I could, but the lap times did not follow. Our performance improved as the laps went by," said Rowland.

"To be honest, my best lap wasn't that great. I made a few mistakes, but now I just need to focus on the race."

The race starts at 15:35, local time.

View comments (0)