Formula Renault 2.0 - Ghiotto takes first win of season at Spa

Prema Powerteam's Luca Ghiotto secured his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 triumph of the season in race two at Spa-Francorchamps.

Formula Renault 2.0 - Ghiotto joins greats in Pau

View photo

2013 Spa FR 2.0 Race 2 Prema Ghiotto

Fresh from winning the Grand Prix de Pau, the Italian led Pierre Gasly (Tech 1 Racing) and Bruno Bonifacio (Prema Powerteam) home at the end of a thrilling race.

Despite making a perfect getaway, Antonio Fuoco relinquished P1 to Ghiotto at the end of the long straight leading into Les Combes, while Oscar Tunjo also got past Gasly on lap one.

The race was then interrupted following excursions for Gregor Ramsay (Euronova) and Stefan Wackerbauer ( Racing) at Raidillon.

Gasly piled the pressure on Luca Ghiotto in the latter stages, though the Italian held firm to take victory. Bonifacio was the third man on the podium, ahead of Fuoco and Jake Dennis (Fortec Motorsport), with Tunjo, Esteban Ocon (ART Junior Team), Nyck De Vries (Koiranen GP), Mikko Pakari (Fortec Motorsports) and William Vermont (ARTA Engineering) grabbing the remaining points on offer.

Gasly said: “Another second place is good for my championship chances. With all the battles going on in the bunch and the interruptions, it was a tough start to the race. I managed to recover, though, and score some big points.”

View comments (0)