Formula Renault 2.0 - Rowland charges to race one win in Spa

Manor MP Motorsport's Oliver Rowland climbed from fifth on the grid to score his first Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 win of the year at Spa-Francorchamps.

Formula Renault 2.0 - Rowland charges to race one win in Spa

View photo

2013 Spa FR 2.0 Manor MP Rowland

Rowland took victory ahead of Pierre Gasly (Tech 1 Racing) with Oscar Tunjo (Josef Kaufmann Racing) completing the podium.

“I started fifth and with so much competition around I wasn’t expecting to win," Rowland said. "There were a few private duels going on out there and that helped me to keep out of trouble.

"We showed some good pace in testing and we needed everything to click in this race. Getting my first win of the year more than makes up for a disappointing qualifying session.”

William Vermont made an excellent start to lead from Tunjo, while Gasly tried unsuccessfully to nose past. But it was Rowland who made the most incisive start of all, surging past Vermont and Tunjo in the early stages and then taking the lead from Jake Dennis at the end of lap three.

Rowland was untroubled as he eased over the line with plenty to spare from Gasly and Tunjo. Andrea Pizzitola and Antonio Fuoco occupied the next two places after overtaking Dennis, who came home sixth, and an unfortunate Luca Ghiotto, who was forced to retire with one lap remaining.

Vermont, Esteban Ocon (ART Junior Team), Stefan Wackerbauer ( Racing) and Mikko Pakari (Fortec Motorsports) rounded off the top 10 ahead of Matthieu Vaxiviere (Tech 1 Racing), who nevertheless remains out front in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 standings, nine points clear of Rowland.

View comments (0)