Formula Renault 2.0 - Rowland takes third victory of 2013

Oliver Rowland (Manor MP Motorsport) held off a sustained challenge from championship rival Pierre Gasly (Tech 1 Racing) in Austria to record his third win of the season.

Formula Renault 2.0 - Rowland takes third victory of 2013

View photo

Race two of the Formula Renault 2.0 Series at the Red Bull Ring in Austria

Ed Jones (Fortec Motorsports) claimed his second podium of the weekend at the Red Bull Ring, finishing third after an intense and competitive race.

"Qualifying was fantastic, and the car was incredible. We had a bit of difficulty during the race, mainly with our grip when braking. I'd say it was one of the toughest races of my career," said Rowland.

"The other drivers were right behind me all the time, pushing me to the limit. I was very happy to see the chequered flag."

Rowland claimed his maiden pole position with a fastest lap of 1:29.496. The British driver qualified ahead of Gasly, Jones, Alexander Albon (KTR) and Aurélien Panis (Prema Powerteam).

After the lights went out, championship leader Rowland held his lead convincingly from Gasly, Jones, Albon and Oscar Tunjo (Josef Kaufmann Racing).

Roman Mavlanov (RC Formula) went into the pits after contact with Aurélien Panis, causing him to slip back to eighth place. And on lap four, Albon passed Jones to move up to third.

Gasly and Albon piled pressure on Rowland on lap six. But it was to no avail, and the Briton only stretched his lead further. Behind them, in a tight chasing pack, 10 drivers battled it out, going three-cars wide at some points on the Red Bull Ring.

Despite Gasly's best efforts, Rowland held strong to take the victory. Jones secured another podium finish, followed by Jake Dennis (Fortec Motorsports) and Lotus F1 Junior Team pair Albon and Tunjo. Luca Ghiotto (Prema Powerteam), Ignazio D’Agosto (KTR), Levin Amweg (Jenzer Motorsport) and Steijn Schothorst (Josef Kaufmann Racing) completed the top 10.


1 ROWLAND (GBR) - Manor MP Motorsport - 27:37.772

2 GASLY (FRA) - Tech 1 Racing - +0.658

3 JONES (UAE) - Fortec Motorsports - +1.788

4 DENNIS (GBR) - Fortec Motorsports - +2.904

5 ALBON (GBR) - KTR - +2.977

6 TUNJO (COL) - Josef Kaufmann Racing - +3.155

7 GHIOTTO (ITA) - Prema Powerteam- +4.614

8 D'AGOSTO (ITA) – KTR - +6.290

9 AMWEG (SUI) - Jenzer Motorsport - +6.705

10 SCHOTHORST (NED) - Josef Kaufmann Racing - +6.863

View comments (0)