Formula Renault 3.5 - Champion Magnussen signs off with win

After clinching the Formula Renault 3.5 Series title Kevin Magnussen followed by securing pole number eight of the year and victory number five in Barcelona.

Formula Renault 3.5 - Champion Magnussen signs off with win

View photo

Kevin Magnussen

Second behind the Dane was championship runner-up Stoffel Vandoorne (Fortec Motorsports), with Will Stevens (P1 by Strakka Racing) third.

"It’s been a fantastic day for me," Magnussen said." The car’s been performing pretty much the same all year but today it was nothing short of amazing. It’s a great way to end a magnificent season. I don’t think I can thank Dams enough for putting their faith in me and for everything they’ve given me.”

Magnussen enjoyed another fine morning, equalling Daniel Ricciardo’s record of eight poles in a single season. At the end of a session interrupted by fog, the Dane qualified ahead of Vandoorne, Arthur Pic (AV Formula) and Stevens.

Arthur Pic made a flying start from third to put Magnussen under immediate pressure, though the Frenchman went back to where he started when Vandoorne passed him on lap two. The Belgian tucked in behind Magnussen, with Pic and Nico Muller (International Draco Racing) in his wake.

Muller was the first of the front four to head into the pits for the obligatory tyre change on lap eight, the Swiss rejoining the race behind Will Stevens, who had gone in a lap earlier. There was no catching Magnussen and Vandoorne, who bolted on new tyres on laps nine and ten respectively, while Pic’s decision to pit on lap 12 did not bring him any reward. The Frenchman’s race ended shortly afterwards when he made an unsuccessful attempt to get past Norman Nato (DAMS) and ran off.

Marco Sorensen (Lotus) was the last member of the leading bunch to come in on lap 16, with Magnussen regaining the lead and surging to another win from Vandoorne and Stevens. Muller was fourth, ahead of Nato, Carlos Sainz (Zeta Corse) and Sorensen, with Nigel Melker (Tech 1 Racing), Marlon Stockinger (Lotus) and Oliver Webb (Fortec Motorsports) eventually coming in to complete the top 10.

View comments (0)