Formula Renault 3.5 - Peerless Magnussen clinches title

Kevin Magnussen clinched the Formula Renault 3.5 Series title in the weekend’s first race at Barcelona.

Formula Renault 3.5 - Peerless Magnussen clinches title

View photo

Kevin Magnussen (DAMS)

The Dane did it in style too, taking the chequered flag from Will Stevens (P1 by Strakka Racing) and Stoffel Vandoorne (Fortec Motorsports), and helping Dams take the team crown in the process.

"It feels so special. Nothing compares to this. I had to finish the job off and we did it together, with the whole team. It’s been a fantastic season and I love working with Dams," Magnussen said.

"It might look like it’s all gone pretty smoothly but there have been ups and downs. It’s been very tough but I’ve achieved what I set out to do. I can’t wait for what lies ahead.”

Magnussen began the day in record-breaking fashion by becoming the first driver ever to score four consecutive poles in Formula Renault 3.5 Series. At the end of a keenly contested qualifying session, the Dane occupied pole ahead of Stevens, William Buller (Zeta Corse) and his championship rival Vandoorne.

Magnussen surged away from the lights in first, followed by Stevens, with Vandoorne finding a way past Buller and into third. Carlos Huertas (Carlin) stalled on the grid, while there was turmoil in the pack as Marco Sorensen (Lotus), Nigel Melker (Tech 1 Racing), Norman Nato (DAMS), Marlon Stockinger (Lotus) and Yann Cunha (AV Formula) came together.

The safety car made its appearance before pulling in at the end of lap six, at which point Magnussen promptly began to pull away despite the best efforts of Stevens and a slight mistake by the Dane on lap 22. There was plenty of action going on behind them, meanwhile, as the drivers in the pack scrapped it out for the minor placings, with DRS strategy having a big say.

Magnussen cruised home to seal the 2013 Formula Renault 3.5 Series title and also seal the team championship for Dams. Stevens and Vandoorne took second and third respectively, with Antonio Felix da Costa (Arden Caterham) coming in fourth after passing Buller three laps from the flag.

Also in the points on the penultimate day of the season were Zoel Amberg (Pons Racing), Matias Laine (P1 by Strakka Racing), Daniil Move (SMP Racing by Comtec), Pietro Fantin (Arden Caterham) and Oliver Webb (Fortec Motorsports).

View comments (0)