Four teams given Tour wild cards

French teams Cofidis, Saur-Sojasun and Team Europcar and Dutch outfit Argos-Shimano have been granted wild cards to take part in this year's Tour de France.


Each of the 18 ProTour teams will take part in the race along with four invited squads.

There were no big suprises in the list although French team Bretagne-Schuller, whose rider Florient Vachon won the Criterium first stage, would have expected an invitation.

Argos-Shimano, who were known as Project 1t4i when the season began, hope to clinch a stage victory and will rely on their German leader Marcel Kittel, who shone in the Vuelta last year.

The Tour start from Liege, Belgium, on June 30 and arrives in Paris on July 22.

Sorry you didn't like this comment. Please provide a reason below.

Are you sure?
Rating failed. Try again.
Request failed. Try again.
We will promote constructive and witty comments to the top, so that everyone sees them!
Sorry, we can’t load comments right now. Try again.

    Win cash in one day fantasy football contests. Join now!

    Learn how to play

    Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
    Premier League Cup Round 4 [£1.5K Free] 30212/500000 Free £1500 Saturday 7:30 AM Enter
    Premier League £1,500 Saturday 33/335 £5 £1500 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £600 Saturday 1/26 £25 £600 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter