Giugliano upstages title hopefuls in FP1

Davide Giugliano went quickest in the opening practice session of the World Superbike race weekend at the Nurburgring.

Giugliano upstages title hopefuls in FP1

View photo

Davide Giugliano

The Althea Racing rider took his Ducati round the famous German circuit in one minute 56.395 seconds, over a tenth faster than championship hopeful Max Biaggi.

Championship leader Marco Melandri was third fastest, with Britain's Jonathan Rea and Tom Sykes fourth and fifth respectively.

Biaggi trails Melandri by 18.5 points in the title race, with Sykes clinging on to hope a further 22.5 points down, though with three races still to come the British rider remains in the hunt.

Nurburgring FP1 results:

1. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'56.395

2. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'56.528

3. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1'56.601

4. Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1'56.680

5. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'56.868

6. Sylvain Guintoli (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 1'57.010

7. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'57.169

8. Leon Camier (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1'57.259

9. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1'57.354

10. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'57.459

11. Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1'57.550

12. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'57.642

13. Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 1'57.845

14. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1'58.088

15. Maxime Berger (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'58.104

16. Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'58.128

17. Niccolò Canepa (Red Devils Roma) Ducati 1098R 1'58.268

18. John Hopkins (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1'58.758

19. David Salom (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'59.230

20. Lorenzo Lanzi (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 1'59.636

21. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1'59.758

22. Alexander Lundh (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 2'00.937

23. Norino Brignola (Grillini Progea Superbike Team) BMW S1000 RR 2'01.227

24. Brett McCormick (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 2'01.469

View comments (0)