Hong Kong FDC Hands Out First Round Of Streaming Content Development Grants

Hong Kong Film Development Council (HKFDC) has announced the first ten projects to receive grants under its Content Development Scheme for Streaming Platforms.

The ten projects, which will now enter phase two of the scheme, include series to be directed and/or produced by leading Hong Kong filmmakers such as Lawrence Ah Mon, Derek Yee, Peter Ho-sun Chan and Kenneth Bi (see full list of grantees below).

More from Deadline

Shortlisted teams will each receive HK$0.6M to HK$1.2M as a script development fee for developing a production proposal and full scripts of an entire mini-series.

Winning teams selected to enter phase three will each receive HK$4.5M to produce the first one or first two episodes of a series. Together with the script development fee, each final winning team will be awarded a total of up to HK$5.7M.

HKFDC chairman Wilfred Wong, said: “This new Scheme launched under the Film Development Fund has received enthusiastic responses from the industry. Over 50 eligible applications have been received, which is very encouraging.

“The ten selected projects feature diversified themes with content showing creativity and international perspective. I look forward to seeing the full scripts developed by shortlisted teams successfully obtaining support from investors to finance the completion of the entire project, a mini-series, thereby bringing quality streaming content with distinctive Hong Kong elements to audiences from all over the world.”

Bus Lightyear
Producer: LEE Yan-lam Roger
Director/Producer: AH Mon Lawrence
Script Supervisor/Scriptwriter: LUI Sau-lin
Script Supervisor/Director: SZETO Wai-cheuk Roy
Scriptwriter: LI Linglong
Champion Turns Up
Producer/Director: CHEUNG Kin-man Nelson
Script Supervisor: SHAM Kwok-wing
Scriptwriter: CHAN Yuen-mei
Kowloon Grand Hotel
Producer: YEE Tung-sing Derek
Director/Scriptwriter: TSANG Tsui-shan
Script Supervisor: TO Shui-yung
Producer: CHEANG Pou-soi
Director: LI Tsz-chun Jonathan
Script Supervisor: YIP Wai-ping
Scriptwriter: SHUM Kwan-sin
Today Will Never Return
Producer/Director: CHAN Ho-sun Peter
Script Supervisor/Scriptwriter: CHAN Ka-yee
Script Supervisor: TSI Ka-kei Peter
Spirited Away
Producer: CHO King-man
Director: WONG Wai-kit
Script Supervisor/Scriptwriter:
XIAO Xianjing
Eyes Of Sparrow
Producer: HUI Chi-kin Ken
Director/Scriptwriter: KA Sing-fung
Script Supervisor: LO Wing-man Vivian
Balikbayan Box Club
Producer: HUI Yuet-chun
Director: TSANG Kwok-cheung Derek
Script Supervisor/Scriptwriter: HE Liangyu
Once There Were Jackals
Producer: KONG Chi-keung
Director: HUI Hok-man
Script Supervisor: MAK Tin-shu
Scriptwriters: CHONG Yuen-ping, CHEUNG Yin-kei
Las Mulas
Producer: LEE Ka-wai Katherine
Director/ Script Superior: BI Kenneth
Scriptwriter: LAU Kok-rui

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.