These 23 House Republicans voted to sink Marjorie Taylor Greene's censure resolution accusing Rashida Tlaib of 'leading an insurrection'

A composite image of Marjorie Taylor Greene and Rashida Tlaib.
Reps. Marjorie Taylor Greene of Georgia and Rashida Tlaib of Michigan.Tom Williams and Bill Clark/CQ-Roll Call via Getty Images
  • Marjorie Taylor Greene tried to censure Rashida Tlaib, accusing her of "leading an insurrection."

  • Tlaib had addressed pro-Palestinian protesters as they held a sit-in at a Capitol Hill office building.

  • Twenty-three House Republicans joined Democrats to table Greene's resolution.

Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene's attempt to censure Rep. Rashida Tlaib failed on Wednesday — in part thanks to three of Tlaib's home-state Republican colleagues.

A majority of the Republican-led House voted to table the Georgia Republican's censure resolution, which accused the Michigan Democrat of being antisemitic, sympathizing with terrorists, and "leading an insurrection."

Twenty-three Republicans voted with every Democrat to table Greene's resolution.

The Georgia congresswoman notably has her own history of antisemitic pronouncements and once suggested that Tlaib was not a legitimate member of Congress because she was sworn in with a Quran rather than a Bible.

The resolution relied on several mischaracterizations of Tlaib's past comments and positions, including suggesting that she felt a "calming feeling" when thinking of the Holocaust and characterizing her criticism of Israel as antisemitic.

Tlaib, the sole Palestinian-American in Congress, has indeed irked some of her Jewish colleagues by describing Israel as an apartheid state — a term employed by several international human-rights organizations.

The resolution also characterized a sit-in protest on Capitol Hill led by two Jewish anti-Zionist groups — IfNotNow and Jewish Voice for Peace — as an "insurrection."

The October 19 protest included a large crowd outside the Capitol and a sit-in in the rotunda of the Cannon House Office Building. Tlaib spoke to the crowd outside.

While Republicans are often quick to criticize Tlaib, Greene's resolution apparently went too far for some of them, and a handful appeared to make their opposition clear in the days before the vote.

Notably, half of the Republicans in Michigan voted to table the resolution.

Here are the 23 Republicans who voted to table Greene's resolution:

  1. Rep. Kelly Armstrong of North Dakota

  2. Rep Ken Buck of Colorado

  3. Rep. John Duarte of California

  4. Rep. Chuck Edwards of North Carolina

  5. Rep. Morgan Griffith of Virginia

  6. Rep. Glenn Grothman of Wisconsin

  7. Rep. Harriet Hageman of Wyoming

  8. Rep. Bill Huizenga of Michigan

  9. Rep. Darrell Issa of California

  10. Rep. Dusty Johnson of South Dakota

  11. Rep. Doug LaMalfa of California

  12. Rep. Thomas Massie of Kentucky

  13. Rep. Tom McClintock of California

  14. Rep. Rich McCormick of Georgia

  15. Rep. Max Miller of Ohio

  16. Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks of Iowa

  17. Rep. John Moolenaar of Michigan

  18. Rep. Chip Roy of Texas

  19. Rep. Austin Scott of Georgia

  20. Rep. Victoria Spartz of Indiana

  21. Rep. Michael Turner of Ohio

  22. Rep. Derrick Van Orden of Wisconsin

  23. Rep. Tim Walberg of Michigan

Read the original article on Business Insider