Indians end champions Sunrisers' perfect IPL start

A lack of runs proved to be costly for the IPL champions, who suffered their first loss of the tournament against an impressive Mumbai side.

Nitish Rana gave another demonstration of his talent after Jasprit Bumrah and Harbhajan Singh starred with the ball as Mumbai Indians beat Indian Premier League champions Sunrisers Hyderabad by four wickets.

Sunrisers had started the defence of their title with two victories, but they came unstuck at the Wankhede Stadium, where the home side followed up their win over Kolkata Knight Riders with another impressive success.

Shikhar Dhawan (48 from 43 balls) and captain David Warner (49 off 34) put on 81 for the first wicket, but veteran spinner Harbhajan (2-23) struck twice to turn the tide on a dewy pitch.

Bumrah took 3-24 as Sunrisers could only post 158-8 and Rana, scorer of a half-century against KKR, top scored with 45 for a Mumbai side which got home with eight balls to spare despite some impressive bowling from Rashid Khan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Dhawan and Warner were slow to get going, but the India opener whipped a six over midwicket and hit another two boundaries off the seventh over from Mitchell McClenaghan before he had a life when Krunal Pandya was unable to take a catch to remove him.

Warner guided Hardik Pandya over the ropes wide of third man and also hit Harbhajan for six, but the evergreen off-spinner had the Australia Test vice-captain caught behind in the same over.

Harbhajan got rid of Deepak Hooda soon after and Sunrisers totally lost their way after a McClenaghan full toss crashed into Dhawan's leg stump before India quick Bumrah struck three times.

Parthiv Patel put the two-time champions on course for victory after Jos Buttler and Rohit Sharma failed, the latter totally foxed by a googly from Afghanistan spin sensation Rashid - who took 1-19 from four excellent overs.

Mustafizur Rahman, replacing the unwell Moises Henriques, was taken for 19 in his first over as Parthiv passed 2,000 IPL runs and made 39 from only 24 before falling to Hooda.

Bhuvneshwar (3-21) took over as the leading wicket-taker in this year's tournament by dismissing the gifted Rana, Kieron Pollard and Krunal - who produced fireworks with 37 from only 20 balls - but Sunrisers were left to rue a lack of runs.

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes