IPL 2017, Kings XI Punjab profile: Team overview, key players, fixtures, history and prediction

Karthick Arvinth
kings XI punjab

IBTimes UK takes a closer look at the eight teams participating in the 10th edition of the Indian Premier League. Kings XI Punjab will look to put up a better showing this time around after finishing bottom in last year's tournament.

Team overview

Glenn Maxwell has been made captain of Kings XI Punjab after the franchise finished bottom of the table last year under the captaincy of India opener Murali Vijay. The decision is something of a surprise given the Australia batsman's lack of captaincy experience, with the Punjab squad also containing the likes of England limited-overs captain Eoin Morgan, former West Indies T20 captain Darren Sammy and former South Africa Test captain Hashim Amla.

Trending: Frustrated Lewis Hamilton proposes F1 changes after Chinese Grand Prix practice is cancelled

Vijay has pulled out of the tournament due to wrist and shoulder injuries, with pace bowler Ishant Sharma brought in to replace him. KXIP also signed New Zealand duo Martin Guptill and Matt Henry in the auction to further strengthen their overseas pool of talent.

Star man

Glenn Maxwell was named IPL player of the tournament in 2014 but was dropped for several matches last season due to lack of form. The 28-year-old comes into the tournament high on confidence after scoring his maiden Test century in Australia's series defeat against India.

Don't miss: Barcelona 'to activate £10.3m buy-back clause' to re-sign Gerard Deulofeu from Everton


Players retained

Overseas: David Miller (South Africa), Glenn Maxwell (Australia), Shaun Marsh (Australia), Marcus Stoinis (Australia), Hashim Amla (South Africa)

Most popular: Dana White hint at lowering UFC purse splits demands in Floyd Mayweather vs Conor McGregor talks

Domestic: Manan Vohra, Akshar Rajesh Patel, Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Anureet Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Shardul Narendra Thakur, Wriddhiman Saha, Murali Vijay, Nikhil Shankar Naik, Mohit Sharma, KC Cariappa, Armaan Jaffer, Pardeep Sahu, Swapnil Singh, Ishant Sharma

Bought at auction

Overseas: Eoin Morgan (England), Matt Henry (New Zealand), Martin Guptill (New Zealand), Darren Sammy (West Indies)

Domestic: Thangarasu Natarajan, Varun Aaron, Rahul Tewatia, Rinku Singh


Kings XI Punjab have never won the IPL title. They finished as runners-up to Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2014 season.


08/04/17 Saturday 11.30am BST Kings XI Punjab vs Rising Pune Supergiant Indore
10/04/17 Monday 3.30pm BST Kings XI Punjab vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Indore
13/04/17 Thursday 3.30pm BST Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab Kolkata
15/04/17 Saturday 3.30pm BST Delhi Daredevils vs Kings XI Punjab Delhi
17/04/17 Monday 3.30pm BST Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kings XI Punjab Hyderabad
20/04/17 Thursday 3.30pm BST Kings XI Punjab vs Mumbai Indians Indore
23/04/17 Sunday 11.30am BST Gujarat Lions vs Kings XI Punjab Rajkot
28/04/17 Friday 3.30pm BST Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Mohali
30/04/17 Sunday 11.30am BST Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils Mohali
05/05/17 Friday 3.30pm BST Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kings XI Punjab Bangalore
07/05/17 Sunday 3.30pm BST Kings XI Punjab vs Gujarat Lions Mohali
09/05/17 Tuesday 3.30pm BST Kings XI Punjab vs Kolkata Knight Riders Mohali
11/05/17 Thursday 3.30pm BST Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab Mumbai
14/05/17 Sunday 11.30am BST Rising Pune Supergiant vs Kings XI Punjab Pune


KXIP will need big performances from their overseas players and consistency from their Indian bowling contingent to make the play-offs.

You may be interested in:

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes