IPL 2017 Mumbai Indians profile: Match schedule, dates, squad, overview and prediction

Pradhan Muthanna
Rohit Sharma

Mumbai Indians (MI) have always been one of the big boys of the Indian Premier League (IPL) similar to Manchester United in the English Premier League. They have backed up that tag by winning the IPL trophy two times – 2013 and 2015 – and will go into the 2017 season as one of the favourites to reach the latter stages of the competition.

MI they did not have a good 2016 campaign as they finished in the fifth place. They have maintained the core of their squad going into the new campaign and bought only seven new players. Mitchell Johnson and Saurabh Tiwary return to their old stomping ground after spending time with Kings XI Punjab and Rising Pune Super Giants, respectively.

Trending: Jon Jones UFC comeback announcement? Plans to break silence

Coach: Mahela Jayawardene

Key players: Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga

Don't miss: Liverpool handed two-year ban on signing academy players


06/04/17 Thursday 3.30pm BST Rising Pune Supergiants v Mumbai Indians Pune
09/04/17 Sunday 3:30pm BST Mumbai Indians v Kolkata Knight Riders Mumbai
12/04/17 Wednesday 3.30pm BST Mumbai Indians v Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai
14/04/17 Friday 11:30am BST Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians Bangalore
16/04/17 Sunday 11:30am BST Mumbai Indians v Gujarat Lions Mumbai
20/04/17 Thursday 3:30pm BST Kings XI Punjab v Mumbai Indians Indore
22/04/17 Saturday 3:30pm BST Mumbai Indians v Delhi Daredevils Mumbai
24/04/17 Monday 3:30pm BST Mumbai Indians v Rising Pune Supergiants Mumbai
29/04/17 Saturday 3:30pm BST Gujarat Lions v Mumbai Indians Rajkot
01/05/17 Monday 11:30am BST Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Mumbai
06/05/17 Saturday 3:30pm BST Delhi Daredevils v Mumbai Indians Delhi
08/05/17 Monday 3:30pm BST Sunrisers Hyderabad v Mumbai Indians Hyderabad
11/05/17 Thursday 3:30pm BST Mumbai Indians v Kings XI Punjab Mumbai
13/05/17 Saturday 3:30pm BST Kolkata Knight Riders v Mumbai Indians Kolkata

IPL History: MI have won the IPL title on two occasions in 2013 and 2015.

Most popular: Bill Gates and Roger Federer to team up for charity doubles tennis match in Seattle


Players retained

Overseas: Kieron Pollard (West Indies), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Lendl Simmons (West Indies), Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand), Jos Buttler (England), Tim Southee (New Zealand)

Indians: Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Gopal, R Vinay Kumar, Parthiv Patel, Nitish Rana, Siddhesh Dinesh Lad, J Suchith, Hardik Pandya, Jitesh Sharma, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Punia

Bought at auction ( Indian unless mentioned otherwise)

Mitchell Johnson (Australia), Nicolas Pooran (West Indies), Asela Gunaratne (Sri Lanka), Karn Sharma, Krishnappa Gowtham, Saurabh Tiwary, Kulwant Khejroliya


The two-time champions are strong contender to make it to the latter stages of the competition.

You may be interested in:

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes