Ireland star Niamh Briggs among winners at Garda Sportstar awards

Steven O'Rourke
Ireland star Niamh Briggs among winners at Garda Sportstar awards

Six nations heroine Niamh Briggs and Mayo’s Colm Boyle were both honoured for their sporting endeavours at the 20th annual Coiste Siamsa/St Raphael’s Garda Credit Union Sportstar Awards which took place this weekend.

The awards are presented to Garda members who have achieved in their chosen sporting areas, locally, nationally and internationally.

Briggs was key member of the Ireland women’s Rugby team which captured an historic first ever Grand Slam in 2013.

The 29-year old played in all five matches, emerged as the tournament’s top scorer  with 43 points and kicked the crucial points in the final game against Italy.  The award caps a remarkable year for Briggs who was also part of the Munster team which won the Interprovincial Championship and the UL Bohemians team which captured the All-Ireland League.

It’s a second piece of silverware for the Limerick based Garda in recent weeks after she was jointly awarded Rugby Player of the Year alongside Jonathan Sexton.

Mayo footballer and Garda Colm Boyle with Commissioner Martin Callinan.
Image: Garda Press Office

Also honoured on the night was Mayo’s Colm Boyle for his role in guiding Mayo to a second All-Ireland final in as many years. Boyle was recently selected on the GAA GPA All Star team and involved with the International Rules panel. The Davitts clubman is stationed at Clifden.

A full list of award winners can be found here.

Underdog status may bring out Ireland’s best side

O’Driscoll: No one will give Ireland a chance, that’s fine by us

What to read next

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes