Karnataka win Vijay Hazare Trophy, become first team to land a treble

Ranji champions Karnataka win treble.

Karnataka Cricket Team

Ranji champions Karnataka continued their dream run as they now become the first team to have won the Ranji Trophy, Irani Cup and Vijay Hazare Trophy in one single season after defeating Railways in the finals of the 2014 Vijay Hazare Trophy today. It was their maiden Cup win in the national one-day tournament.

Karnataka won the match by 6 wickets after they comfortably chased the target of 157 set by the Railways with 42 balls remaining. Rajasthan-born Karun Nair finished the match for Karnataka with his brilliant 53 and was partnered by Kunal Kapoor (24).  Earlier in the day, Abhimanyu Mithun ran through the Railways batting order picking up 4 wickets for just 19 runs in 9.4 overs.

Karnataka will now be looking to add yet another trophy in their cabinet as they will be participating in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, the national Twenty20 championship.

Originally published on Sportskeeda.com here
Sorry you didn't like this comment. Please provide a reason below.

Are you sure?
Rating failed. Try again.
Request failed. Try again.
We will promote constructive and witty comments to the top, so that everyone sees them!
Sorry, we can’t load comments right now. Try again.

    Win cash in one day fantasy football contests. Join now!

    Learn how to play

    Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
    Premier League £1,500 Saturday 18/335 £5 £1500 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £600 Saturday 0/26 £25 £600 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £300 Saturday 33/340 £1 £300 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter