Kilkenny stick with rotation policy ahead of Waterford clash

Steven O'Rourke
Kilkenny stick with rotation policy ahead of Waterford clash
Kilkenny stick with rotation policy ahead of Waterford clash

In keeping with their policy throughout this season’s Allianz National Hurling League Division IA campaign, Brian Cody and his selectors have made a raft of changes ahead of Sunday’s crunch encounter with Waterford.

Eoin Murphy starts in goal this weekend as JJ Delaney makes his first appearance of the season at full-back with Jackie Tyrrell named at number six.

Elsewhere in the back line, Joey Holden moves back to the corner and Cillian Buckley slots in to the wing-back position. Brian Kennedy starts right half-back with Tommy Walsh, Brian Hogan, Lester Ryan and Tomas Keogh — all of whom started last week — dropping to the bench.

Richie Hogan and Padraig Walsh continue their midfield partnership from the second half of the Dublin game with Henry Shefflin also starting on Sunday.

Mark Kelly, who was a late withdrawal in Parnell Park, is once again selected at full-forward as Eoin Larkin moves to the corner.​

Kilkenny team to play Waterford: Eoin Murphy (Glenmore); Paul Murphy (Danesfort), JJ Delaney (Fenians), Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks); Brian Kennedy (St. Lachtains), Jackie Tyrrell (James Stephens), Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro); Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan), Richie Hogan (Danesfort); Watler Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon), Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Henry Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks); JonJo Farrell (Thomastown), Mark Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels), Eoin Larkin (James Stephens).

UL and Queen’s University book places in tomorrow’s O’Connor Cup final in Belfast

6 talking points before Sunday’s hurling league action

What to read next

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes