Surfing: Lay day called at Rip Curl Pro Portugal

Event organisers at the Rip Curl Pro Portugal called competition off on Thursday, opting to wait for improved conditions before starting the event.

Surfing: Lay day called at Rip Curl Pro Portugal

View photo

Adriano de Souza of Brazil in Portugal (ASP)

“Small surf as projected this morning and we’ve called a lay day for competition,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said.

“We’re tracking a solid system that should send surf for the weekend and potentially tomorrow afternoon. We’ll be back tomorrow to assess our options and make another call then.”

When competition does commence, Brazilian defending champion Adriano de Souza will be up first in heat one, along with compatriot Raoni Monteiro and Brett Simpson of the USA.

Round one

Heat 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Brett Simpson (USA), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)

Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Jadson Andre (BRA)

Heat 3: John John Florence (HAW), Kai Otton (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)

Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)

Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Damien Hobgood (USA), Dillon Perillo (USA)

Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Pierre Valentin Laborde (FRA)

Heat 7: Owen Wright (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Yadin Nicol (AUS)

Heat 8: Josh Kerr (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Taylor Knox (USA)

Heat 9: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

Heat 10: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Adam Melling (AUS)

Heat 11: Jordy Smith (ZAF), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF)

Heat 12: Julian Wilson (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)

View comments (0)