'King James' crowned Finals MVP

Miami Heat forward LeBron James realised his dream by leading his team to the National Basketball Association championship and the man nicknamed 'King James' completed his coronation with the series most valuable player award.


James, who also picked up the regular season MVP honour for the third time in his career, led the Heat to a 4-1 win over the Oklahoma City Thunder in the best-of-seven championship series that was capped off by a 121-106 victory.

The dominant player throughout the series, James scored 26 points, pulled down 11 rebounds and doled out a game-high 13 assists in a brilliant all-round effort in the finale.

"This means everything," the 27-year-old James said after being presented with the MVP trophy by Celtics great Bill Russell.

"It's a dream come true."

James, who averaged 28.6 points, 10.2 rebounds and 7.4 assists in the series, won his first NBA ring on his third trip to the finals.

His Cleveland Cavaliers were swept in four games in 2007 by the San Antonio Spurs, and the Heat lost to the Dallas Mavericks in six games last season.

"Losing the finals last year put me back in place, it humbled me a lot," said James.

"Today is the happiest day of my life."

Previous Finals MVPs:

2011 - Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks

2010 - Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers

2009 - Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers

2008 - Paul Pierce, Boston Celtics

2007 - Tony Parker, San Antonio Spurs

2006 - Dwyane Wade, Miami Heat

2005 - Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs

2004 - Chauncey Billups, Detroit Pistons

2003 - Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs

2002 - Shaquille O'Neal, Los Angeles Lakers

2001 - Shaquille O'Neal, Los Angeles Lakers

2000 - Shaquille O'Neal, Los Angeles Lakers

1999 - Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs

1998 - Michael Jordan, Chicago

1997 - Michael Jordan, Chicago

1996 - Michael Jordan, Chicago

1995 - Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston

1994 - Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston

1993 - Michael Jordan, Chicago

1992 - Michael Jordan, Chicago

1991 - Michael Jordan, Chicago

1990 - Isiah Thomas, Detroit Pistons

1989 - Joe Dumars, Detroit Pistons

1988 - James Worthy, Los Angeles Lakers

1987 - Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers

1986 - Larry Bird, Boston Celtics

1985 - Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers

1984 - Larry Bird, Boston Celtics

1983 - Moses Malone, Philadelphia 76ers

1982 - Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers

1981 - Cedric Maxwell, Boston Celtics

1980 - Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers

1979 - Dennis Johnson, Seattle SuperSonics

1978 - Wes Unseld, Washington Bullets

1977 - Bill Walton, Portland Trail Blazers

1976 - Jo Jo White, Boston Celtics

1975 - Rick Barry, Golden State Warriors

1974 - John Havlicek, Boston Celtics

1973 - Willis Reed, New York Knicks

1972 - Wilt Chamberlain, Los Angeles Lakers

1971 - Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks

1970 - Willis Reed, New York Knicks

1969 - Jerry West, Los Angeles Lakers

Sorry you didn't like this comment. Please provide a reason below.

Are you sure?
Rating failed. Try again.
Request failed. Try again.
We will promote constructive and witty comments to the top, so that everyone sees them!
Sorry, we can’t load comments right now. Try again.

    Win cash in one day fantasy football contests. Join now!

    Learn how to play

    Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
    Premier League £300 Saturday 70/340 £1 £300 Saturday 3:00 PM Enter
    Premier League £250 Saturday 9/57 £5 £250 Saturday 3:00 PM Enter
    PL £1 Learn To Play [No Risk] 47/150 £1 £180 Saturday 3:00 PM Enter