Megane Trophy - Bortolotti grabs double at Red Bull Ring

After his majestic drive on Saturday, Mirko Bortolotti (Oregon Team) dominated again in the Eurocup Megane Trophy a day later.

Megane Trophy - Bortolotti grabs double at Red Bull Ring

View photo

Eurocup Megane Trophy at the Red Bull Ring

The Italian again completed a clean sweep by claiming pole position, fastest lap and the race victory.

Bortolotti finished ahead of Mike Verschuur (McGregor by Equipe Verschuur) and Erik Janis (Gravity Charouz), a result that strengthens his position at the top of the championship.

"I'm pleased with this result: a clean sweep, just like yesterday," Bortolotti said. "Once again, the team did a fantastic job. Unfortunately my team-mate didn't get the results he deserved, so we're aiming for a good team performance in Budapest. There's still a long way to go until the end of the season."

Bortolotti was the dominant force in qualifying for the seventh time this year, taking pole position with a lap of 1:34.610. The Italian qualified ahead of Steven Palette (Team Lompech Sport) and Kelvin Snoeks (Oregon Team). Snoeks, however, received a four-place grid penalty for a collision yesterday. Verschuur and Kevin Gilardoni (Oregon Team), then, lined up on the second row.

When the lights went out, championship leader Bortolotti held his lead from pole. Palette botched his start and was overtaken by Verschuur and Janis, while behind them the chasing pack was compact, with wheel-to-wheel battles throughout.

On lap seven, after setting a string of fastest laps, Bortolotti took his mandatory refuelling stop. Verschuur pitted a lap later, but could not find a way past his Oregon Team rival. And in the closing stages, Palette lost third place after suffering a gearbox problem.

Bortolotti eventually took the chequered flag for his sixth victory of the season, with Verschuur and Janis second and third respectively.

Gilardoni was fourth, followed by Max Braams (Las Moras by Equipe Verschuur), Marguerite Laffite (Oregon Team) and best-placed gentleman driver Enrico Bettera (Oregon Team). Jean-Charles Miginiac (Team Lompech Sport), Jakub Knoll (Gravity Charouz) and Oliver Freymuth (AKF Motorsport) also finished in the points.


1-BORTOLOTTI (ITA) - Oregon Team 2 - 42:05.569

2-VERSCHUUR (NED) - McGregor by Equipe Verschuur - +7.708

3-JANIS (CZE) - Gravity Charouz - +14.260

4-GILARDONI (ITA) - Oregon Team 2 - +15.626

5-BRAAMS (NED) - Las Moras by Equipe Verschuur - +44.022

6-LAFFITE (FRA) - Oregon Team 1 -+56.770

7-BETTERA (ITA) - Oregon Team 1 - +1:00.758

8-MIGINIAC (FRA) - Team Lompech Sport - +1:02.981

9-KNOLL (CZE) - Gravity Charouz - +1:04.082

10-FREYMUTH (GER) - AKF-Motorsport - +1:07.122

View comments (0)