Megane Trophy - Verschuur wins Spa opener

Former champion Mike Verschuur (McGregor by Equipe Verschuur) made the most of a speedy refuelling stop to claim his first Eurocup Megane Trophy win of the season in race one at Spa.

Megane Trophy - Verschuur wins final race of season

View photo

2013 Spa Mégane Trophy Verschuur

Title winner in 2009, Verschuur roared from fifth on the grid to beat Kelvin Snoeks (Oregon Team) and Erik Janis (Gravity Charouz) to the line.

Max Braams (Las Moras by Equipe Verschuur) spun as the grid lined up, and when the lights went out Toni Forne (Gravity Charouz) stalled. In the battle for the lead, meanwhile, Kevin Gilardoni’s unsuccessful attack on Mirko Bortolotti at the entrance to Raidillon allowed Snoeks to nip into second place between his two stable-mates. Then, on lap two, Vladimir Lunkin (Oregon Team) went off at the top of Raidillon.

The race would hinge on the compulsory refuelling stops. The first man into the pits was Jean-Charles Miginiac (Team Lompech Sport) on lap six.

Verschuur went on to take the chequered flag from Snoeks, Janis, Bortolotti, Steven Palette, Max Braams and Gentlemen Trophy race winner Jeroen Schothorst.

Enrico Beretta, Oliver Freymuth (AKF Motorsport) and Jakub Knoll (Gravity Charouz) were the other three drivers to finish in the top ten.

“The team did a fantastic job," Verschuur said. "The car was perfect and the refuelling stop allowed us to take the lead. It’s something we’ve worked really hard on and it was a nice way for us to get the win.”

View comments (0)