Michael van Gerwen extends Premier League lead with victory on Night Five

Getty Images

Van Gerwen, who picked up his first-night win of the season in Dublin last week, claimed wins over Gerwyn Price and Nathan Aspinall to reach the final at Westpoint Exeter. The final saw Van Gerwen take control in the early stages as he opened up a 3-0 lead against 2021 champion Jonny Clayton, who was appearing in his first final of the campaign. The Welshman rallied, reducing the deficit to just one leg as he trailed 3-4, only for Van Gerwen to win back-to-back legs for a second successive night victory. "I'm six points clear now; I love it," said a delighted Van Gerwen. "The pressure is on every week and you have to perform, so it's a relief to win as well. 'You have to believe in your own ability and I was at my best when I had to be tonight. "Overall, I think it was a good night for myself. "The will to win is there and when you get confidence in the Premier League it's massive." Clayton moves up two places to fifth courtesy of picking up three league points thanks to victories over Peter Wright - who is yet to get off the mark - and Dimitri Van den Bergh.

2023 Cazoo Premier League Night Five - Thursday March 2 Westpoint Exeter


  • Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Gerwyn Price

  • Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Michael Smith

  • Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Chris Dobey

  • Jonny Clayton 6-5 Peter Wright


  • Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Nathan Aspinall

  • Jonny Clayton 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh


  • Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Jonny Clayton

Elsewhere, semi-finalists Aspinall and Van den Bergh leave Exeter with two points apiece thanks to quarter-final wins over Michael Smith and Chris Dobey respectively. The Cazoo Premier League roadshow heads to Liverpool's M&S Bank Arena on Thursday March 9 for Night Six of the league phase, as Van Gerwen and Clayton clash again in the quarter-finals. Wright will be looking to get his first win as he takes on Price, while Dobey faces Aspinall and Smith meets Van den Bergh.

Night Six - Thursday March 9 M&S Bank Arena, Liverpool: Quarter-Finals

  • Gerwyn Price v Peter Wright

  • Michael van Gerwen v Jonny Clayton

  • Chris Dobey v Nathan Aspinall

  • Michael Smith v Dimitri Van den Bergh

The article Michael van Gerwen extends Premier League lead with victory on Night Five appeared first on Planetsport.com.