Millar included in Olympic squad

David Millar, who served a two-year suspension for EPO use, has been selected in Team GB's London 2012 Olympic cycling squad.


The Scot, now 35, is on a list of eight possible riders in the GB Men's road race squad for the Games. Five of those names will go on to compete, so it is possible that Millar may not race.

Millar, who was banned in 2004 after admitting to doping, is the most contentious name on a strong-looking GB squad.

The British Olympic Association's policy of issuing life-time Olympic bans for drugs cheats was overturned in April by the Court of Arbitration for Sport, allowing Millar to be selected.

18 athletes were formally named by the Great Britain Cycling Team for the Olympics, with several Olympic champions amongst the line-up.

Sir Chris Hoy, Bradley Wiggins, Nicole Cooke and Victoria Pendleton were all included, along with road race world champion Mark Cavendish.

Hoy is up against Jason Kenny for the sole individual sprint berth, but decisions over which cyclists will compete in which event have not yet been declared and are expected to follow 'in due course'.

"We have selected what I believe to be an excellent team going into an Olympic Games and we have a good mix of experienced Olympians alongside young riders who are making their Olympic debut," Britain's cycling performance director Dave Brailsford said in a statement.

"We still have some decisions to make. For example the road teams will be refined in due course and who will ride what event on the track will be determined nearer the time.

"Overall though the GB cycling team has had a strong season across all the disciplines and we are ready to step up again at the Olympics," he added.

The Games start on July 27.

Full Team GB Olympic squad

Track Sprint

Philip Hindes

Chris Hoy

Jason Kenny

Victoria Pendleton

Jessica Varnish

Track Endurance

Steven Burke

Edward Clancy

Wendy Houvenaghel

Peter Kennaugh

Danielle King

Joanna Rowsell

Andrew Tennant

Geraint Thomas

Laura Trott


Liam Phillips

Shanaze Reade

Cross Country Mountain Biking

Liam Killeen

Annie Last

Men’s Road (five to ride)

Mark Cavendish

Steve Cummings

Chris Froome

Jeremy Hunt

David Millar

Ian Stannard

Ben Swift

Bradley Wiggins

Women’s Road (four to ride)

Lizzie Armitstead

Nicole Cooke

Katie Colclough

Sharon Laws

Lucy Martin

Emma Pooley

Sorry you didn't like this comment. Please provide a reason below.

Are you sure?
Rating failed. Try again.
Request failed. Try again.
We will promote constructive and witty comments to the top, so that everyone sees them!
Sorry, we can’t load comments right now. Try again.

    Win cash in one day fantasy football contests. Join now!

    Learn how to play

    Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
    Premier League £1,500 Saturday 23/335 £5 £1500 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £600 Saturday 1/26 £25 £600 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £300 Saturday 37/340 £1 £300 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter