Motor racing-Formula One statistics for the British Grand Prix

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·3-min read
British Grand Prix
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

(Reuters) - Statistics for Sunday's British Grand Prix at Silverstone, the 10th round of the Formula One world championship:

Lap distance: 5.891 km. Total distance: 306.198 km (52 laps)

2020 British GP pole position: Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes One minute 24.303 seconds

2020 winner: Hamilton.

Race lap record: Max Verstappen (Netherlands) 1:27.097 (Red Bull, 2020)

Start time: 1400GMT (1500 local)


Sunday's race will be the 72nd British Grand Prix.

Hamilton is chasing a record-extending eighth British win. He has also been on pole seven times at Silverstone.

Mercedes have won seven of the last eight British Grands Prix.

Every winner has started from fourth or higher since 2000.

Four current drivers have won the British Grand Prix at Silverstone: Hamilton (2008, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020), Sebastian Vettel (2009, 2018), Fernando Alonso (2006, 2011) and Kimi Raikkonen (2007).

Verstappen won the 70th anniversary race last year, the first time Silverstone hosted two races in a single season.

The British Grand Prix, with Italy, is one of two ever-present races on the calendar since 1950. This year's race will be the 55th British GP at Silverstone.

Ferrari have won the British GP 17 times.


Hamilton has a record 98 career victories, of which 77 have been with Mercedes, from 275 starts. He has been on the podium 171 times.

Verstappen has won five races so far in 2021, to Hamilton's three and one for Red Bull's Mexican Sergio Perez.

Mercedes have now gone five races without a win for the first time since 2013, before the start of the current V6 turbo hybrid era that they have dominated.

Ferrari have won 238 races since 1950, McLaren 182, Mercedes 118, Williams 114 and Red Bull 70. Former champions McLaren and Williams have not won since 2012.


Hamilton has a record 100 career poles and has won 59 times from pole.

Mercedes have gone five races without a pole position. Verstappen was on pole in the last two races in Austria and also France, while Ferrari's Charles Leclerc was fastest in Azerbaijan and Monaco qualifying.


Verstappen is 32 points ahead of Hamilton. Red Bull lead Mercedes by 44 points.


McLaren's Lando Norris has had eight top five finishes in nine races. The Briton has also finished his last 13 races in the points, the longest run of anyone on the grid.


Verstappen has won three races in a row for the first time in his F1 career.

The Dutch 23-year-old is the youngest driver to achieve 50 podiums. His two victories in Austria made him the first F1 driver to win two championship races at the same venue in the same year.

Red Bull's engine provider Honda are enjoying their longest winning streak since 1988, when Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna won the first 11 races of the season for McLaren.

(Reporting by Alan Baldwin, editing by Christian Radnedge)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting