NASCAR at Bristol: Jimmie Johnson wins second consecutive Monster Cup race, takes Food City 500

Jimmie Johnson won in Bristol for the second time in his career.

On a wet, grey day, it was Jimmie Johnson coming out on top at Bristol for the second time in his career, winning his second straight Monster Cup race.

"It's honestly what I've been looking for here for 16 years," Johnson said in his post-race interview. "I'm very very happy."

Johnson won the O'Reilly Auto Parts 500 on April 9.

MORE: Everything you need to know about the Food City 500

Johnson beat out Clint Bowyer and Kevin Harvick for the victory.

Kyle Larson came in sixth, and retained his points lead in the Monster Cup.

NASCAR at Bristol: Live race news, results

2:00 : Kurt Busch wrecked early, and was none-too-pleased with himself.

2:08: Kyle Larson is off to a good start, as he wins Stage One.

2:44: Dale Earnhardt Jr. is now out of the race after hitting the wall in lap 218.

2:55: Martin Truex Jr. wins Stage Two. Larson comes in seventh.

3:57: Kyle Busch is now out of the race as well.

4:21: Jimmy Johnson wins at Bristol, his second time winning at the track.


1. Jimmie Johnson
2. Clint Bowyer
3. Kevin Harvick
4. Matt Kenseth
5. Joey Logano
6. Kyle Larson
7. Chase Elliott
8. Martin Truex Jr.
9. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
10. Denny Hamlin
11. Trevor Bayne
12. Jamie McMurray
13. Austin Dillon
14. Ryan Newman
15. Ty Dillon
16. Paul Menard
17. Erik Jones
18. Daniel Suarez
19. Matt DiBenedetto
20. Kasey Kahne
21. Cole Whitt
22. Aric Almirola
23. David Ragan

NASCAR at Bristol: Food City 500 starting lineup

Daniel Suarez 24. Corey LaJoie
25. Kurt Busch
26. Michael McDowell
27. Jeffrey Earnhardt
28. Reed Sorenson
29. Gray Gaulding
30. A.J. Allmendinger
31. Derrike Cope
32. Landon Cassill
33. Ryan Blaney
34. Brad Keselowski
35. Kyle Busch
36. Danica Patrick
37. Timmy Hill
38. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
39. Chris Buescher

NASCAR at Bristol: Food City 500 starting lineup

Daniel Suarez

Here is the starting lineup for the Food City 500.

  1. Kyle Larson
  2. Chase Elliott
  3. Martin Truex Jr.
  4. Brad Keselowski
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Ryan Blaney
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Jamie McMurray
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. Kevin Harvick
  11. Jimmie Johnson
  12. Trevor Bayne
  13. Ryan Newman
  14. Erik Jones
  15. Kurt Busch
  16. Denny Hamlin
  17. Kasey Kahne
  18. Aric Almirola
  19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  20. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  21. Austin Dillon
  22. Matt Kenseth
  23. Daniel Suarez
  24. Ty Dillon
  25. AJ Allmendinger
  26. Paul Menard
  27. Chris Buescher
  28. Michael McDowell
  29. Danica Patrick
  30. Landon Cassill
  31. Cole Whitt
  32. Matt DiBenedetto
  33. David Ragan
  34. Reed Sorenson
  35. Corey LaJoie
  36. Gray Gaulding
  37. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  38. Timmy Hill
  39. Derrike Cope

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes