NASCAR starting lineup at Texas: Kevin Harvick on pole as contenders miss qualifying

Sporting News
Harvick picked up where he left off from last week's dominating win in Atlanta, leading 214 laps at Las Vegas to win the Pennzoil 400.

NASCAR results at Las Vegas: Kevin Harvick dominates again, wins Pennzoil 400

Harvick picked up where he left off from last week's dominating win in Atlanta, leading 214 laps at Las Vegas to win the Pennzoil 400.

Kevin Harvick won his second pole of the season Friday at Texas MotorSpeedway, but the biggerstory from the session involved nine drivers who did not even turn a qualifying lap.

Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chase Elliott, Kasey Kahne, Kyle Larson, Chris Buescher, Erik Jones, Timmy Hill and Derrike Cope will start at the rear of the field in Sunday's O'Reilly Auto Parts 500 (1:30 p.m. ET, Fox)after their cars failed to pass tech prior to the end of the first round of qualifyingat the 1.5-mile track.

Kyle Busch's team worked relentlessly to repair right-rear damage on his primary car after a wreck in Friday's morning practice, but the logjam to get through tech prevented him from recording a qualifying lap. The No. 18 team could have elected to switchto a backup car but stuck with the primary car because of its impressive speed.

Busch's wreck occurred in Turn 2 ofTexas Motor Speedway's re-profiled track. In addition torepaving the entire track including pit lane, the track reduced banking by four degrees andexpanded the racing surface 20 feet in Turns 1 and 2.Turns 3 and 4 of the track remain 60 feet wide at 24 degrees of banking.

Joey Logano

MORE: NASCAR at Texas: TV schedule, dates, times, qualifying drivers for O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 | NASCAR at Texas: Vegas odds, key stats, sleepers, fantasy drivers to watch

Ryan Blaney, who owned the fastestspeed in Friday's opening practice, will join Harvickon the front row as he seeks his first career Cup Series win.

Here is the starting lineup for theO’Reilly Auto Parts 500 (334 laps):

  • Kevin Harvick

  • Ryan Blaney

  • Clint Bowyer

  • Joey Logano

  • Brad Keselowski

  • Jamie McMurray

  • Martin Truex Jr.

  • Matt Kenseth

  • Ryan Newman

  • Kurt Busch

  • Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

  • Trevor Bayne

  • Michael McDowell

  • Ty Dillon

  • Landon Cassill

  • AJ Allmendinger

  • Denny Hamlin

  • Aric Almirola

  • Danica Patrick

  • Daniel Suarez

  • David Ragan

  • Paul Menard

  • Corey LaJoie

  • Jimmie Johnson

  • Austin Dillon

  • Matt DiBenedetto

  • JJ Yeley

  • Cole Whitt

  • Gray Gaulding

  • Reed Sorenson

  • Jeffrey Earnhardt

  • Kyle Larson

  • Chase Elliott

  • Kyle Busch

  • Kasey Kahne

  • Erik Jones

  • Dale EarnhardtJr.

  • Chris Buescher

  • Timmy Hill

  • Derrike Cope

What to read next

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes