NHL playoffs 2019: Sharks got away with one vs. Blues, hockey Twitter rules

Sporting News

So, what will the hockey world be talking about all day Thursday (and probably Friday, too)? Give you one hint: #handpass.

More to the point, the seemingly missed handpass that led to the Sharks' game-winning goal in overtime vs. the Blues on Wednesday. The four on-ice officials — referees Dan O'Rourke and Marc Joannette and linesmen Matt MacPherson and Jonny Murray — didn't see or didn't judge that Timo Meier's right hand directed the puck to teammate Gustav Nyquist. Nyquist then fed Erik Karlsson, who beat Jordan Binnington to give San Jose a 5-4 win in Game 3 and a 2-1 series lead in the Western Conference finals.

The play was not reviewable.

Scroll to continue with content
Ad

MORE: Thornton makes history with two-goal game

A league executive offered non-answers when asked whether Meier made an illegal play in the San Jose offensive zone, but the responses by prominent non-St. Louis, non-San Jose hockey Twitter people were much less circumspect: This was a bad miss by the men in stripes and the league:

Game 4 of the series is Friday in St. Louis. By time the puck drops around 8 p.m. ET, the #handpass will have been sliced, diced and ground into the ice. There will be new calls/missed calls/bad calls to put under the microscope.

What to read next