NHLPA Open: Participants, how to stream 'Fortnite' tournament

Sporting News

The National Hockey League Players Association is conducting an NHLPA Open tournament featuring "Fortnite." In total, more than 80 players will take part in the three-hour event beginning at 2 p.m. ET Monday.

Organized by Colorado Avalanche forward J.T. Compher and Toronto Maple Leafs forward Zach Hyman, the participants will play four games of "trios" with the winner earning a $200,000 charity prize pool.

"Once the season got shut down, me and my teammates were playing 'Fortnite' a little more," Compher said in an interview with ESPN. "We kind of just came up with the idea of getting an NHL tournament together, where we could play against guys around the league."

Scroll to continue with content

Compher said the excitement about the "Fortnite" tournament has been building amongst the players. The event will be streamed on Twitch and the Avs forward hopes the players show a little restraint in what's said during the tournament.

"It's live, so there are going to be some check-ins with the guys. We want kids and families to be able to watch, so we're trying to limit the cursing," Compher said. "But we want to see that excitement. That's part of 'Fortnite.'"

In the end, the event will help raise money for a good cause.

"To do it for charity right now is most important thing right now," Compher said. "We have all this downtime, all these tough times going on in the world right now. For the players to step up, use our time, use our exposure in the right way was pretty exciting for us."

How to watch the NHLPA Open featuring "Fortnite"

The three-hour tournament will feature over 80 hockey players — more than 65 NHLers — separated in 28 different teams. Each team will have a captain designated with Hyman serving as one of the tournament hosts.

Detroit Turner Elson (C), Adam Erne, Eric Tangradi





Troy Terry (C), Max Jones, Josh Manson


Clayton Keller (C), Conor Garland, Nick Schmaltz


David Pastrnak (C), Jake DeBrusk, Charlie McAvoy


Johnny Gaudreau (C), Buddy Robinson, Andrew Mangiapane


Brett Pesce (C), Sebastian Aho, Teuvo Teravainen


J.T. Compher (C), Nathan MacKinnon, Matt Nieto


Zach Werenski (C), Emil Bemstrom, Eric Robinson


Jason Dickinson (C), Anthony Louis, Josh Melnick


Turner Elson (C), Adam Erne, Eric Tangradi


Kailer Yamamoto (C), Logan Day, Evan Bouchard


Dom Toninato (C), Joel Lowry, Mason Marchment

Los Angeles

Trevor Moore (C), Michael Amadio, Ben Hutton


J.T. Brown (C), Mat Robson, Victor Rask


Ryan Poehling (C), Cale Fleury, Jake Evans

Long Island

Grant Hutton (C), Kieffer Bellows, Simon Holmstrom


Thomas Chabot (C), Nick Paul, Chris Tierney


Travis Konecny (C), Joel Farabee, Connor Bunnaman


Zach Aston-Reese (C), Bryan Rust, Brian Dumoulin

St. Louis

Robert Thomas (C), Jordan Kyrou, Vince Dunn

Tampa Bay

Scott Wedgewood (C), Carter Verhaeghe, Barclay Goodrow


Mitch Marner (C), Travis Dermott, Frederik Gauthier


Alex Tuch (C), William Karlsson, Nate Schmidt


Anthony Bitetto (C), Jack Roslovic, Connor Hellebuyck


Alex Nylander (CHI - C), William Nylander (TOR), Adrian Kempe (LAK)


Jayce Hawryluk (OTT - C), Joe Morrow, Jayson Megna (COL)

Bush Bandits

Cale Makar (COL - C), Matt Calvert (COL), Mario Ferraro (SJ)

Women's Hockey Trio

Abby Roque (C), Britta Curl, Genevieve Lacasse

The Griefers

Jake Walman (STL - C), Devante Smith-Pelly, Josh Ho-Sang (NYI)

What to read next