NYICFF Jury Selects Short Films ‘Magic Candies’ and ‘Unibrow’ for Top Awards

The New York International Children’s Film Festival (NYICFF) has officially selected its 2024 winners.

The jury, which consisted of Ira Sachs, Ilana Glazer, Uma Thurman, and more A-listers, announced short films “Magic Candies” and “Unibrow” as the two selections. Daisuke Nishio’s “Magic Candies” is an animated short and had its world premiere at the festival, where Nedda Sharshar’s “Unibrow” is live-action; both are now Oscar-qualifying. All jurors voted on both awards.

More from IndieWire

Juror Ilana Glazer called “Unibrow” a “universal” story even given its specificity. “Told viscerally with a full palette of emotions, ‘Unibrow’ is an example of excellent storytelling,” Glazer said.

Fellow juror Benjamin Renner called “Magic Candies” an “absolute delight” of a short film.

The NYICFF audience awards were determined by the votes of viewers aged three to 17, as well as audience members aged 18+ for adult-centric awards. The Grand Prize for an Animated Feature was awarded to “Kensuke’s Kingdom,” with “Coco Farm” taking home the Grand Prize for a Live-Action Feature title. The Grand Prize for Short Film was “The Queen’s Flowers.”

Jury member Ira Sachs spoke to the inclusivity of NYICFF for the next generation of cinephiles.

“Unlike in the multiplex, at NYICFF, young audiences find a rare cinematic intimacy with themselves and with their own life experience,” Sachs said.

The festival also awarded a cash prize outside of jury and audience selections. The Unstoppable Kids Prize, co-presented with Shine Global, was awarded to “Dounia – The Great White North.” The prize recognizes a film that highlights the resilience and strength of children in the face of adversity. The winner of the Unstoppable Kids Prize is awarded $2,500 and an invitation to participate in Shine Global’s Resilience Awards events.

See below for the full NYICFF winners list for the 27th annual festival.


Audience Award winners are determined by audience voting in five age brackets and in three, all-ages Grand Prizes.

Audience Award, ages 3+ — “Tabby McTat” (United Kingdom, US Premiere); Jac Hamman & Sarah Scrimgeour, Shorts for Tots

Audience Award, ages 6+ — “Hoofs on Skates” (Lithuania, World Premiere); Ignas Meilūnas, Short Films One

Audience Award, ages 8+ — “The Queen’s Flowers” (United States, World Premiere); Ciara Leinaala Lacy, Short Films Two and Girls’ POV Shorts

Audience Award, ages 12+ — “Squeegee Boy” (United States); Chung-Wei Huang, Short Films Three

Grown Ups Award, determined by audience members ages 18 and older — “Karol, The Vampire Queen” (Colombia, World Premiere); Short Films Two and ¡Hola Cine!

Grand Prize Short Film — “The Queen’s Flowers” (United States, World Premiere); Ciara Leinaala Lacy, Short Films Two and Girls’ POV Shorts

Grand Prize, Animated Feature — “Kensuke’s Kingdom” (United Kingdom, Luxembourg, France, New York Premiere); Neil Boyle & Kirk Hendry

Grand Prize, Live Action Feature — “Coco Farm” (Canada, New York Premiere); Sébastien Gagné

Best of IndieWire

Sign up for Indiewire's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.