O'Sullivan out of pocket on return

Ronnie O’Sullivan’s first tour match since winning the 2012 World Championship ended in a shock 4-3 defeat to world number 76 Simon Bedford.

Snooker - O'Sullivan withdraws from Chinese event

View photo

ronnie o'sullivan

The 36-year-old Bedford fought back from 3-2 down to win the final two frames in the Players Tour Championship third round contest.

And with no prize money awarded to those who bow out at the last-128 stage, O’Sullivan – one of the sport’s richest men – ended up £100 down having paid the three-figure sum to enter the tournament.

Bedford has only qualified for the World Championships – held at Sheffield’s Crucible Theatre and won four times by O’Sullivan – on one occasion back in 1998.

And having made just over £10,000 in prize money over the last two seasons, the left-hander from Bradford works part-time as a snooker tutor to make ends meet.

Bedford marched on later in the day, winning his fourth round contest against Adam Duffy also by a final-frame decider before bowing out of the last-32, losing 4-2 to Rod Lawler.

Saturday results in full:

Round 3

Martin Gould 4-2 Ricky Norris

Craig Steadman 4-2 Gareth Green

Marcus Campbell 4-1 Sam Harvey

Rory McLeod 4-2 Louis Heathcote

Peter Lines 4-2 Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon

Michael Wild 0-4 Stephen Lee

John Higgins 4-1 Samuel Thistlewhite

Alfie Burden 4-3 Martin O'Donnell

Simon Bedford 4-3 Ronnie O'Sullivan

Li Yan 0-4 Adam Duffy

Jak Jones 2-4 Stuart Carrington

Rod Lawler 4-1 Ian Glover

Cao Yupeng 3-4 Peter Ebdon

Alan McManus 4-3 Matthew Selt

Neil Robertson 4-2 Michael Leslie

Stuart Bingham 4-0 David Gilbert

Mark Allen 4-0 Jamie Gibson

Ken Doherty 4-0 Sanderson Lam

Yu DeLu 4-2 Jimmy Robertson

Scott Donaldson 0-4 Ding Junhui

Gary Wilson 4-0 Rhys Clark

Andrew Pagett 0-4 Fergal O'Brien

Paul Davison 4-3 Tom Ford

Michael Holt 4-2 Gerard Greene

David Grace 4-2 Richard Remelie

Ben Woollaston 4-0 Ben Jones

Liu Chuang 4-2 Callum Downing

Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 0-4 Steve Davis

Dominic Dale 4-3 Daniel Wells

Allan Taylor 3-4 Jamie O'Neill

James Wattana 4-2 Andy Hicks

Mark Selby 4-2 Liam Highfield

Round 4

Martin Gould 4-3 Craig Steadman

Marcus Campbell 2-4 Rory McLeod

Peter Lines 2-4 Stephen Lee

John Higgins 1-4 Alfie Burden

Simon Bedford 4-3 Adam Duffy

Stuart Carrington 1-4 Rod Lawler

Peter Ebdon 3-4 Alan McManus

Neil Robertson 0-4 Stuart Bingham

Mark Allen 3-4 Ken Doherty

Yu Delu 3-4 v Ding Junhui

Gary Wilson 0-4 Fergal O'Brien

Paul Davison 0-4 Michael Holt

David Grace 3-4 Ben Woollaston

Liu Chuang 3-4 Steve Davis

Dominic Dale 4-1 Jamie O'Neill

James Wattana 2-4 Mark Selby

Round 5

Martin Gould 4-3 Rory McLeod

Stephen Lee 4-0 Alfie Burden

Simon Bedford 2-4 Rod Lawler

Alan McManus 3-4 Stuart Bingham

Ken Doherty 4-2 Ding Junhui

Fergal O'Brien 4-2 Michael Holt

Ben Woollaston 4-1 Steve Davis

Dominic Dale 4-2 Mark Selby

View comments (6)