Palmer sets Sepang pace

Palmer sets Sepang pace


The Briton, driving for the iSport International squad this season, set his 1m46.678s best time two thirds of the way through the 30 minute session on the medium compound Pirelli tyres.

Palmer may have been bumped from the top spot not long after, but Valsecchi - on the hard tyre - locked up into the final hairpin on his best lap. The DAMS driver was thus forced to accept second fastest, just 0.164 seconds slower than Palmer.

Carlin's Tom Chilton was 0.638s away from the pace in third ahead of one of the championship favourites Giedo van der Garde (Caterham), Fabio Onidi (Coloni) and early pacesetter Felipe Nasr in the second DAMS car.

Another to top the times early in the session, Luiz Razia, was seventh for Arden ahead of ART Lotus's James Calado, Coloni's Stefano Coletti and Josef Kral, driving for Addax.

Kral's team-mate Johnny Cecotto Jr caught the attention of the stewards when he and Esteban Gutierrez (ART Lotus) made contact at Turn 12 as the Venezualen tried to pass the Mexican around the outside.

Cecotto was travelling at a much faster pace, but appeared to go down a gap that was not wide enough for a Dallara, the impact damaging Gutierrez's car and forcing him to pull off the track with only a third of the session complete. The incident was under investigation.

Also being investigated by the stewards was Trident's Stephane Richelmi for a separate issue.


1. Jolyon Palmer iSport 1m46.514s

2. Davide Valsecchi DAMS 1m46.678s + 0.164s

3. Max Chilton Carlin 1m47.152s + 0.638s

4. Giedo van der Garde Caterham 1m47.229s + 0.715s

5. Fabio Onidi Coloni 1m47.318s + 0.804s

6. Felipe Nasr DAMS 1m47.360s + 0.846s

7. Luiz Razia Arden 1m47.418s + 0.904s

8. James Calado Lotus 1m47.532s + 1.018s

9. Stefano Coletti Coloni 1m47.533s + 1.019s

10. Josef Kral Addax 1m47.580s + 1.066s

11. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 1m47.616s + 1.102s

12. Johnny Cecotto Jr Addax 1m47.637s + 1.123s

13. Esteban Gutierrez Lotus 1m47.639s + 1.125s

14. Nathanael Berthon Racing Engineering 1m47.644s + 1.130s

15. Jon Lancaster Ocean 1m47.681s + 1.167s

16. Fabrizio Crestani Lazarus 1m47.699s + 1.185s

17. Stephane Richelmi Trident 1m47.862s + 1.348s

18. Simon Trummer Arden 1m48.246s + 1.732s

19. Rio Haryanto Carlin 1m48.259s + 1.745s

20. Marcus Ericsson iSport 1m48.326s + 1.812s

21. Nigel Melker Ocean 1m48.437s + 1.923s

22. Tom Dillmann Rapax 1m48.447s + 1.933s

23. Julian Leal Trident 1m48.746s + 2.232s

24. Rodolfo Gonzalez Caterham 1m48.764s + 2.250s

25. Ricardo Teixeira Rapax 1m50.549s + 4.035s

26. Giancarlo Serenelli Lazarus 1m52.306s + 5.792s

Sorry you didn't like this comment. Please provide a reason below.

Are you sure?
Rating failed. Try again.
Request failed. Try again.
We will promote constructive and witty comments to the top, so that everyone sees them!
Sorry, we can’t load comments right now. Try again.

    Win cash in one day fantasy football contests. Join now!

    Learn how to play

    Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
    Premier League Cup Round 3 [£1.5K Free] 29523/500000 Free £1500 Tomorrow 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £1,500 Saturday 91/335 £5 £1500 Tomorrow 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £500 Saturday 15/55 £10 £500 Tomorrow 10:00 AM Enter