Parkinson wins at Quiksilver Pro France, De Souza out

Joel Parkinson marched on at Quiksilver Pro France, event number seven of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, at La Graviere in France but two top-rated rivals were defeated.

Parkinson wins at Quiksilver Pro France, De Souza out

View photo

Joel Parkinson of Australia rides a tube during the Billabong Pipeline Masters

Parkinson, second in the World Championship rankings, defeated Brazilian wildcard Wiggolly Dantas. The Australian threaded barrels on both his backhand and forehand to net the highest score of the round, an 18.27 out of a possible 20 to advance directly to round three.

He will now face Patrick Gudauskas.

John John Florence, ranked four, downed fellow Hawaiian Dusty Payne by comfortably pulling into barrels and executing crowd-pleasing aerials to advance directly to round three.

He will next take on veteran American Taylor Knox who eliminated fifth ranked Adriano de Souza.

After a slow start, Knox took command of the heat with two consecutive long right-handers to put De Souza in a complicated combination situation.

Despite the Brazilian’s best efforts to come back into the hunt with an incredible 9.77 in the dying moments, time played to Knox’s advantage and the Californian advanced.

Kolohe Andino returned from injury and ultimately found the high-scoring wave in a challenging affair with current seventh ranked Josh Kerr.

Andino will take on perennial ASP World Title contender Taj Burrow next.

Local favourite Jeremy Flores suffered a horrific wipeout in his bout against Yadin Nicol.

Despite Nicol free-falling into a phenomenal barrel for the first perfect 10 of the event, a battered Flores would ultimately paddle back into the line-up to challenge the Australian and hold on for the win.

Julian Wilson punctuated the afternoon by securing the second 10 of the event for an incredible deep forehand barrel.


Heat 1: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 18.27 def. Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) 2.66

Heat 2: John John Florence (HAW) 15.00 def. Dusty Payne (HAW) 8.40

Heat 3: Taylor Knox (USA) 16.80 def. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 14.44

Heat 4: Kolohe Andino (USA) 9.10 def. Josh Kerr (AUS) 4.90

Heat 5: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 12.50 def. Yadin Nicol (AUS) 12.00

Heat 6: Owen Wright (AUS) 16.76 def. Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 13.90

Heat 7: Julian Wilson (AUS) 17.77 def. Adam Melling (AUS) 4.30


Heat 8: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)

Heat 9: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)

Heat 10: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. Bede Durbidge (AUS)

Heat 11: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)

Heat 12: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)

View comments (0)