Pietersen not on central contracts list

PA Sport
The ECB said talks are ongoing with Kevin Pietersen

View photo

The ECB said talks are ongoing with Kevin Pietersen

Kevin Pietersen's name is not among the list of players the England and Wales Cricket Board confirmed on Friday had been given a central contract for the 2012-13 season.

The batsman is currently out of the picture following a dispute over the alleged content of text messages he sent to members of the South Africa squad during the recent Test series, with his future still no clearer despite the retirement of captain Andrew Strauss.

The ECB, who have issued 10 full-time and four incremental contracts, did add a caveat by saying "discussions are ongoing and remain private" with the 32-year-old but, as things stand, he will not be a contracted player in an Ashes year.

List of England and Wales Cricket Board centrally contracted players for the 2012-13 season.

James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Alastair Cook (Essex), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Matt Prior (Sussex), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire).

Incremental contracts: Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Graham Onions (Durham).

View comments (1)